The art of tapestry weaving

Bookmark and Share

Read more

Aubusson tapestry is crafted using a traditional method practised for centuries and demonstrated here by Patrick Guillot using a horizontal loom known as a low-warp loom. Here, the hand weaver is using white cotton threads, known as warp threads, which function to support the tapestry.

Each of the threads are connected to a cotton heddle, located at right angles to the main loom.

The heddles are joined together in two categories: odd and even, and are connected to two wooden pedals known as the “footsteps”, via an extensive system of attachments and levers which are controlled by the feet of the weaver.

This system enables the separation of the even threads and the odd threads.
For the weft, the weaver works with skeins of wool or silk, which he arranges on bobbins, then distributes between wooden shuttles called flûtes.

In order to pass the thread, he exercises pressure on one of the pedals using his foot which separates the two layers of warp thread. With impressive speed, the weaver then moves them aside with one hand whilst operating the shuttle forwards and backwards using the other hand, and subsequently uses rapid motion of the finger to compress the thread.

To finish off the compression and confirm the density of weaving, the weaver uses two tools: a comb for the narrow sections and a scraper for the wider sections.

An Aubusson tapestry is produced on the underside.

The model of the pattern is painted on a support known as a cartoon which is attached to the underside of the loom using pins and is used to guide the weaver in the production of each detail.

Do you know how to recognise an Aubusson tapestry? All you have to do is turn it over. On the underside, you will see excess thread ends and breakages which the weaver has left on the tapestry.

Etapes suivantes

Aubusson tapestry

The art of tapestry weaving

The artisan who performs the task of tapestry weaving is known as a “lissier” in French. The expertise of the town of Aubusson is now recognised by UNESCO as “intangible cultural heritage of humanity”. Observe the traditional process of weaving  using a low-warp loom with this demonstration by Patrick Guillot.

Other courses

Le geste du lissier

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

La tapisserie d’Aubusson se pratique selon une méthode traditionnelle, qui perdure depuis des siècles, montrée ici par Patrick Guillot, sur un métier horizontal, appelé « métier de basse lisse ». L’artisan lissier y tend des fils en coton blanc, appelés fils de chaîne, qui constituent le support de la tapisserie.

Chacun d’entre eux est raccordé à une lisse en coton, perpendiculaire au métier.

Toutes les lisses sont réunies entre elles en deux catégories : les paires et les impaires. Elles sont reliées par tout un système d’attaches et de leviers à deux pédales en bois, appelées « marches », actionnées par les pieds du lissier.

Ce dispositif permet de séparer la nappe de fils pairs et la nappe de fils impairs.

Pour la trame, le lissier travaille à partir d’écheveaux de laine ou de soie, qu’il dispose en bobines, puis répartit sur ses navettes en bois appelées flûtes.

Pour passer le fil, il exerce une pression du pied sur l’une des marches. Les deux nappes de chaîne se séparent. Le lissier les écarte alors d’une main et manie sa flûte de l’autre main, en allez et retour, avec une rapidité étonnante. Puis il tasse sommairement le fil avec le doigt.

Pour parfaire le tassage, et assurer la densité du tissage, il utilise également deux outils : le peigne pour les parties étroites et le grattoir pour les parties plus larges.

Une tapisserie d’Aubusson se réalise sur l’envers.

Le modèle du motif à réaliser est peint sur un support appelé « carton ». Il est fixé sous le métier à l’aide d’épingles afin de guider le lissier dans la réalisation de chaque détail.

Savez-vous comment reconnaître une tapisserie d’Aubusson ? Il suffit de la retourner. Sur l’envers vous verrez les départs et arrêts de fils que le lissier a laissé dépasser.

Etapes suivantes

Aubusson tapisserie

Le geste du lissier

L’artisan qui réalise le tissage des tapisseries se nomme le lissier. Ce savoir-faire aubussonnais est aujourd’hui reconnu par l’UNESCO comme patrimoine immatériel de l’humanité. Observez le procédé traditionnel du tissage en basse lisse grâce à la démonstration de Patrick Guillot.

Les autres parcours