Caisse d’Epargne et Place d’Espagne

Bookmark and Share

Read more

The Place d’Espagne is situated at the end of the Grande Rue.

In medieval times, the site constituted a major crossroads located on the edge of the fortified town, where three former routes came together. However, shortly before the French Revolution the square was redeveloped as part of a project to modernise the town.

Initially named Place de Bat, the square was renamed Place d’Espagne in 1812, in tribute to the Count of the Empire, Jean-Louis-Brigitte Espagne, who grew up in Aubusson but later died in 1890 in the Battle of Aspern-Essling during a heroic charge against the Austrian artillery.

Situated on the corner of the Place d’Espagne, the Caisse d’Epargne was designed in 1899 by an architect named Puer. A cluster of five houses was demolished in order to make way for its construction, but following several petitions from local residents, the town council decided to leave this area unoccupied in order to extend the Place d’Espagne. The Caisse d’Epargne was therefore constructed further away, on the corner of Market Square.

With its corner entrance and domed roof, its location bestows it with a certain presence, however the profile of the building has changed slightly following modifications made to the roof.

The influence of Art Nouveau can be felt in the extraordinary wavy movement bringing the façade to life, and balconies featuring curvy detail.

Sculpted vegetation is ever-present in the decor and is notably featured in the lintel of the front door located underneath a cornice and in the window stools of the bay windows on the ground floor.
Further above, the inscription “Caisse d’Epargne” is also surrounded by vegetative forms.

A coat of arms of the town of Aubusson is found on top of the pediment above the clock, featuring a crescent moon and two stars above a bush.

Etapes suivantes

20th century Aubusson

Caisse d’Epargne et Place d’Espagne

Formerly known as the Place de Bat, the Place de Espagne was a major crossroads in Aubusson in the medieval era. The Caisse d’Epargne, a fine example of Art Nouveau architecture was built in a position set back from the square. Discover these two key features of the town centre of Aubusson through this video.

Other courses

La Caisse d’Epargne et la Place d’Espagne

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

A l’extrémité de la Grande rue se trouve la Place d’Espagne.

Dès l’époque médiévale, ce lieu constituait un important carrefour, à la limite de la ville fortifiée, où se croisaient trois itinéraires anciens. C’est peu avant la Révolution que la place est aménagée, à la faveur de travaux de modernisation de la ville.

D’abord nommée Place de Bat, elle est rebaptisée place d’Espagne en 1812, en hommage au général d’Empire Jean-Louis-Brigitte Espagne, qui après avoir passé sa jeunesse à Aubusson, est décédé à la bataille d´Essling en 1809 au cours d’une charge héroïque contre l’artillerie autrichienne.

La caisse d’Epargne, située à l’angle de la place d’Espagne, a été dessinée en 1899 par un architecte dénommé Puer. Un îlot de cinq maisons a été démoli pour ce projet de construction. Mais suite à de nombreuses pétitions de riverains, la mairie décide de laisser cet espace dégagé pour agrandir la place d’Espagne. La Caisse d’épargne est donc édifiée plus loin, à l’angle de la Place du Marché.

Cette situation, avec son entrée en angle, mise en valeur par un toit en dôme, lui confère une certaine prestance, même si la silhouette du bâtiment a légèrement changé  suite à une modification de la toiture.

L’influence de l’Art Nouveau se fait sentir dans l’extraordinaire mouvement ondoyant qui anime la façade, avec ses balcons aux formes arrondies.

Les décors végétaux sculptés sont omniprésents. On les trouve notamment sur le linteau de la porte d’entrée, surmonté d’une corniche et sur les tables d’allège des baies du rez-de chaussée.
Plus haut, l’inscription « Caisse d’Epargne » est aussi environnée de formes végétales.

Au sommet du fronton, au dessus de l’horloge, figure un écu aux armoiries de la ville d’Aubusson : un buisson, surmonté d’un croissant et de deux étoiles.

Etapes suivantes

Aubusson 20ème siècle

La Caisse d’Epargne et la Place d’Espagne

La place d’Espagne, anciennement baptisée place de Bat, était un carrefour important d’Aubusson dès l’époque médiévale. La Caisse d’Epargne, bel exemple d’architecture Art Nouveau, a été construite en retrait de la place. Découvrez ces deux éléments du centre ville aubussonnais à travers cette vidéo.

Les autres parcours