Braquenié factory 



Bookmark and Share

Read more

The birth of the factory

The history of the factory began with a cloth merchant based in Paris in the late 18th century. This small family business expanded into the sale of tapestry and prospered greatly from 1842 onwards with the arrival of Alexandre Braquenié as a partner in the business. In 1884, the company was awarded two gold medals for its carpets and tapestries at the Paris Exposition Universelle. The company exhibited at many more events, always winning prizes, and also supplied furnishings for the house of the Emperor and the national palaces of Tuileries and Saint-Cloud. In 1858 the company was rebranded as “Braquenié Frères”.

The following year, the Braquenié brothers decided to set up a large establishment in Aubusson, as until then, they had operated from a single workshop. They purchased the site of a carpet factory and drew up plans for a new factory whose construction began in 1860 and was completed 2 years later. Alexandre Braquenié subsequently left his brother to oversee the Paris establishment and settled in Aubusson. One of the decisions he made was to break with the tradition of needlework tapestries known as ‘point tapestries’ in favour of table covers, canopies and chairs. The production of these items, mainly carried out by women, provided work for many individuals in the Creuse region.

At the peak of its success, Braquenié Frères was a high-society supplier. The reputation of the company stretched beyond the borders of France, attracting wealthy clients from Spain, Italy, Mexico and above all, Russia. In 1867, the Braquenié brothers won the gold medal once again at the Paris Exposition Universelle thanks to tapestry boards designed by Mazerolle and Galland, amongst others. In 1873, Theodore Roosevelt commissioned the Braquenié factory to create a velvet carpet and in 1877 the company produced tapestries for the throne of Pope Pius IX.

The chaotic 20th century

The output of the factory reduced significantly during the First World War. In the 1920’s, there were preliminary attempts at a revival, with the production of tapestries using innovative Art Deco-style cartoons exhibited at the International Exposition of Decorative Arts in 1925.
But on the 12th October 1926, a fire broke out and devastated the main part of the factory. It was rebuilt in 1927, but just as the business was getting back on its feet, it was knocked sideways by the stock market crash of 1929. The economic crisis led to the redundancy of over a hundred workers, despite the securing of notable orders including Ruhlmann carpets for the SS Normandie ocean liner.

The Second World War isolated the factory in Aubusson, which was located in an unoccupied area, from its Belgian colleagues and Parisian headquarters. In 1945, it employed just fifty weavers compared with two hundred in the late 19th century.

Between 1945 and 1963, the Braquenié brand attempted to relaunch production on the back of the revival of wall tapestries, in keeping with Jean Lurçat and his peers. In the fifties, the workshops of Aubusson turned to abstraction and the fusion of materials. But activity had reduced relentlessly and with a dire situation continuing to prevail, the Aubusson factory closed its doors in 1992. Ownership of the site was transferred to the local council, who decided to open a children’s centre.

Etapes suivantes

Aubusson tapestry

Braquenié factory 

During the second half of the 19th century, Braquenié was one of the largest manufacturers of carpets and tapestries in Aubusson. Listen to the story of the creation of this factory, which received awards for its work on several occasions and was successful in conquering high-end markets in both France and abroad.

Other courses

La manufacture Braquenié



Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

La naissance de la manufacture

L’histoire de cette manufacture débute avec un marchand de linge établi à Paris à la fin du 18ème siècle. Cette petite affaire familiale évolue vers la vente de tapisserie et prospère rapidement à partir de 1842, avec l’arrivée d’Alexandre Braquenié qui s’associe à l’entreprise. En 1844, elle reçoit deux médailles d´or pour ses tapis et tapisseries présentés à l´Exposition Universelle de Paris. Les expositions se succèdent, toujours couronnées par des prix. La société fournit la maison de l´Empereur et meuble les palais nationaux des Tuileries et de Saint-Cloud. En 1858, l’entreprise prend le nom de  «Braquenié Frères ».

L’année suivante, les frères Braquenié décident de fonder un établissement de grande ampleur à Aubusson. Jusqu´alors, ils n´y possédaient qu´un simple atelier. Ils achètent le site d’une fabrique de tapis et font dresser les plans d´une nouvelle manufacture dont la construction débute en 1860 pour s’achever 2 ans plus tard. Alexandre Braquenié laisse alors la gestion de l´établissement parisien à son frère et s´installe à Aubusson. Il décide de renouer avec la tradition des tapisseries à l´aiguille, dites tapisseries au point, pour tapis de table, ciels de lit, lambrequins et sièges. Cette activité, essentiellement féminine, permet de donner du travail à de nombreuses ouvrières creusoises.

Au plus haut de son ascension, Braquenié Frères fournit la haute société. La notoriété de la maison dépasse les frontières de la France et s´étend à une clientèle fortunée issue d´Espagne, d´Italie, du Mexique et surtout de Russie. En 1867, les Braquenié obtiennent encore une fois la médaille d’or à l’Exposition Universelle, grâce, entre autres,  à des panneaux de tapisserie d´après Mazerolle et Galland. En 1873, Théodore Roosevelt commande à la manufacture Braquenié un tapis velouté. En 1877 l’entreprise confectionne des tapisseries pour le trône du pape Pie IX.

Le 20ème siècle chaotique

La production de la manufacture ralentit pendant la première guerre mondiale. Dans les années 1920 s’esquisse une relance consacrée par l´Exposition des Arts Décoratifs de 1925, avec la réalisation de tapisseries sur des cartons de style Art Déco novateurs.

Le 12 octobre 1926 se produit un incendie, qui ravage l´aile principale de la manufacture. Elle est reconstruite, en 1927 mais l´entreprise, peinant à retrouver sa situation d´antan, est frappée de plein fouet par le krach boursier de 1929. La crise économique la contraint à licencier plus d´une centaine d´ouvriers, malgré l´obtention de commandes prestigieuses comme les moquettes d´après Ruhlmann pour le paquebot Normandie.

La Seconde Guerre Mondiale isole la manufacture d´Aubusson, située en zone libre, de ses consœurs belges et du siège parisien. En 1945, elle ne fait plus travailler qu’une cinquantaine de lissiers alors qu’elle en employait 200 à la fin du 19ème siècle.

De 1945 à 1963, l’entreprise Braquenié tente de relancer la production en s´appuyant sur le renouveau de la tapisserie murale, dans le sillage de Jean Lurçat et de ses émules. Dans les années cinquante, les ateliers d´Aubusson s´orientent vers l´abstraction et le jeu des matières. Mais l´activité ralentit inexorablement. La conjoncture restant chaotique, la manufacture d’Aubusson ferme en 1992. Les bâtiments reviennent à la commune, qui décide d’y implanter un pôle Enfance.

Etapes suivantes

Aubusson tapisserie

La manufacture Braquenié

Durant la deuxième moitié du 19ème siècle, Braquenié était l’une des plus importantes manufactures de tapis et tapisserie d’Aubusson. Ecoutez l’histoire de la création de cette manufacture qui a été plusieurs fois primée pour ses réalisations et qui a su conquérir un marché haut de gamme en France et à l’étranger.

Les autres parcours