The "signature piece" of François Denhaut 



Audio commentary voice : Sarah LAFAYE, CRT

Bookmark and Share

Read more

This building complex was built in 1906 by François Denhaut, an innovator of Aubusson public works, who in 1902 submitted a patent for a cross-beam reinforced cement design which he had developed. This building truly showcases his expertise in construction.

The architecture of the main façade denotes significant Art Nouveau influences, specifically in ornamental detail including the elaborate ironwork and predominance of diverse vegetation. Note the vegetal patterns on the first-floor wrought iron balustrade, the decoration under the second-floor windows and the red terracotta bas-reliefs depicting thistle bouquets on the third-floor reinforced cement parapet.

Furthermore, the shape and decoration of the bay windows evolves with each floor. On the top floor, François has played on the use of volume by removing the right beam in order to let in significantly more light whilst retaining the overhang of the left beam.

After the construction of this building, François Denhaut returned to aeronautics and was involved in the launch of aviation in the Creuse area. In 1909, he built a biplane and produced his first hydroplane in 1911. He was decorated with the Legion of Honour in 1921.

Etapes suivantes

20th century Aubusson

The "signature piece" of François Denhaut 

François Denhaut was a unique inventor who was born in the town of Aubusson. Through his construction of this building, he created a kind of catalogue of expertise. Listen to this audio commentary to find out more about the architecture of this early 20th century building and the history of its maker.

Other courses

L'immeuble réclame François Denhaut



Voix de l’audioguide : Juliette CHALARD-DESCHAMPS, Région Limousin

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Cet immeuble d’habitation a été bâti en 1906 par François Denhaut. Cet entrepreneur de travaux publics aubussonnais a déposé en 1902 un brevet d’invention pour un modèle de poutre en ciment armé qu’il a mis au point. Cet immeuble est une véritable vitrine de démonstration de son savoir-faire dans le domaine du bâtiment.

L’architecture de la façade principale dénote une influence notable de l’Art Nouveau, en particulier dans ses détails ornementaux comme les ferronneries soignées et la prédominance du répertoire végétal. Remarquez ces motifs végétaux sur le garde corps en fer forgé du premier étage, les décors au dessus des fenêtres du deuxième étage et les bas-reliefs en terre cuite rouge représentant des bouquets de chardons sur le parapet en ciment armé du troisième étage.

La forme et le décor des baies évoluent aussi au fil des étages. Au dernier niveau, François Denhaut a joué sur les volumes, en dégageant la travée de droite pour y faire pénétrer largement la lumière, tout en conservant l’avancée sur la travée de gauche.

Après la construction de cet immeuble, François Denhaut s’est reconverti dans l’aéronautique et a participé aux débuts de l’aviation dans la Creuse. En 1909, il a construit un biplan. En 1911, il a réalisé son premier hydravion. Il a été décoré de la Légion d’Honneur en 1921.

Etapes suivantes

Aubusson 20ème siècle

L'immeuble réclame François Denhaut

François Denhaut était un inventeur aubussonnais atypique. Il a réalisé à travers cet immeuble une sorte de catalogue de son savoir-faire. Ecoutez ce commentaire audio pour en savoir plus sur l’architecture de cet immeuble du début du 20ème siècle et sur l’histoire de son constructeur.

Les autres parcours