Maison des Vallenet



Audio commentary voice : Sarah LAFAYE, CRT

Bookmark and Share

Read more

This house was most likely built during the early 16th century for a member of the Vallenet family. Its structure takes the form of two main buildings connected by an octagonal-shaped stair tower. The tower is characterised by its ‘pepper pot’ or cone-shaped roof, covered with chestnut shingle. At the foot of the tower, observe the frame around the door, which displays moulding specific to 16th century architecture in Aubusson and Felletin.

The façade overlooking the Grande Rue was completely refurbished during the late 18th century, when the Grande Rue became a major thoroughfare for commercial activity in the town. With a view to increasing standards of comfort, the bays were enlarged and a continuous balcony was added to the first floor, enclosed by an ironwork balustrade. Further changes were made during the 19th century with the opening of a shop on the Grande Rue. The cut stone façade is capped by a moulded cornice and a narrow horizontal panel separates the first and second floors.

To the rear of the building on the corner of Rue Pardoux-Duprat, an overhanging turret sits on a moulded corbel crowned with a chestnut shingle-covered dome roof. The string courses visible on each floor of the tower would originally have extended onto the rear façade of the building, serving to support the Renaissance-style windows.

In 1690, the Vallenet family were obliged to concede the property to the presiding châtelain of Aubusson as repayment for a sizeable debt. It was then owned by a succession of tapestry merchant families followed by a haberdasher.

Etapes suivantes

Aubusson heritage

Maison des Vallenet

Built in the 16th century by the Vallenet family, this building is representative of the architectural heritage of Aubusson. Discover its history and architecture courtesy of this audio commentary.

Other courses

La maison des Vallenet



Voix de l’audioguide : Juliette CHALARD-DESCHAMPS, Région Limousin

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Cette maison a vraisemblablement été construite durant le début du 16e siècle, pour un membre de la famille Vallenet. Elle s´organise en deux corps de logis, réunis par une tour d´escalier de plan octogonal. Cette tour se distingue par sa toiture en poivrière, c’est-à-dire de forme conique, couverte de bardeaux de châtaignier. Au bas de la tour, observez l’encadrement de la porte. Il présente une mouluration spécifique à l´architecture civile du 16e siècle à Aubusson et à Felletin.

La façade donnant sur la Grande rue a été entièrement reprise à la fin du 18e siècle, au moment où la Grande Rue est devenue une artère majeure dans la vie commerçante d´Aubusson. Dans une recherche de confort, les baies ont été agrandies, avec l’ajout au premier étage d’un balcon filant, fermé par un garde-corps en ferronnerie. D’autres modifications sont  intervenues au 19ème siècle avec l’ouverture d’une boutique sur la Grande Rue. La façade est en pierre de taille, couronnée par une corniche moulurée. Un bandeau horizontal court entre le premier et le deuxième niveau.

Passons à l’arrière, dans la rue Pardoux-Duprat. A l´angle se trouve une tourelle en surplomb, assise sur un cul-de-lampe mouluré et coiffée d´un dôme couvert de bardeaux de châtaignier. Les cordons visibles a chaque étage de la tour devaient à l’origine se prolonger sur la façade arrière et servir d´appui aux croisées de style Renaissance.

En 1690, la famille Vallenet est obligée de céder la maison au président châtelain d’Aubusson en remboursement d’une importante créance. Elle appartiendra ensuite successivement à des familles de marchands de tapisserie puis à un mercier.

Etapes suivantes

Aubusson patrimoine ancien

La maison des Vallenet

Cette maison construite au 16ème siècle par la famille Vallenet est représentative du patrimoine bâti d’Aubusson. Découvrez son histoire et son architecture au travers de ce commentaire audio.

Les autres parcours