The former Protestant church



Audio commentary voice : Sarah LAFAYE, Comité Régional du Tourisme

Bookmark and Share

Read more

At a house located at number 40, rue Vieille, you will see a 17th century porch built to provide access to the Protestant church via a passage known as the “passage du Prêche”. The church was an unassuming building, scarcely taller than a single floor building.

Protestantism most likely developed in Aubusson during the first half of the 16th century, owing to the close commercial connections of the town with Lyon and Geneva. During the entire second half of the sixteenth century, Catholics and Protestants lived together peacefully.

In 1598, the Edict of Nantes finally provided the Aubusson Protestants, who until this point had carried out their services in secret, with an opportunity to emerge from their hidden life. But the church wasn’t built until 1603, as the Catholics who were opposed to the project held up the work for a significant length of time.

Skirmishes between the Protestants and Catholics increased after the construction of the church, and tension mounted with the rise to power of Cardinal Richelieu in 1624. The Château des Vicomtes, which served as a stronghold for the Protestants, was demolished on his orders in 1632.

In 1663 a decision made by the advisor to the king prohibited the practice of Protestant worship within the town and ordered the closure and destruction of the Protestant church of Aubusson. It had to be moved 500 ‘toises’ (approximately 1 km) from the last house in the town. Consequently, a new church was built on the Clermont-Ferrand road, in the hamlet of Combesaude. The church was in operation for a short time but closed its doors in 1685, just a few months before the revocation of the Edict of Nantes.

Etapes suivantes

Aubusson heritage

The former Protestant church

Protestantism was established in Aubusson in the first half of the 16th century. A church, which has since been destroyed, was built in the early 17th century. The entrance to the passage which leads to the church is still visible in Rue Vieille. Use this audio guide to follow the turbulent history of the contraction of this church.

Other courses

L'ancien temple protestant



Voix de l’audioguide : Juliette CHALARD-DESCHAMPS, Région Limousin

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Dans la maison située au numéro 40 de la rue Vieille, vous pouvez-voir un porche aménagé au 17ème siècle pour permettre l’accès au temple protestant par une ruelle appelée « passage du Prêche ». Le temple était un bâtiment modeste, dépassant à peine la hauteur d’un rez-de chaussée.

Le protestantisme s’est implanté à Aubusson probablement dès la première moitié du 16ème siècle,  à la faveur des relations commerciales étroites que la cité entretenait avec Lyon et Genève. Durant toute la seconde moitié du seizième siècle, catholiques et protestants aubussonnais coexistent pacifiquement.

En 1598, l’Edit de Nantes donne enfin l’occasion aux réformés aubussonnais, qui jusque-là célébraient leurs offices en secret, de sortir de leur vie clandestine. Mais le temple n’est bâti qu’en 1603, car des catholiques opposés au projet l’ont freiné un certain temps.

Les escarmouches entre protestants et catholiques se multiplient après la construction du temple, et la tension monte avec l’accession de Richelieu au pouvoir en 1624. Le château des Vicomtes d’Aubusson, qui a servi de place forte aux réformés,  est démoli sur ses ordres en 1632.

En 1663, un arrêt du conseille du roi interdit la pratique du culte réformé dans l’enceinte de la ville et ordonne la fermeture et la destruction du temple protestant d’Aubusson. Il doit être transporté à 500 toises, soit environ 1km de la dernière maison des faubourgs. Un nouveau temple est donc bâti sur la route de Clermont-Ferrand, au lieu-dit de Combesaude. Il ne connaît qu’une brève existence puisqu’il ferme ses portes en 1685, juste quelques mois avant la révocation de l’Edit de Nantes.

Etapes suivantes

Aubusson patrimoine ancien

L'ancien temple protestant

Le protestantisme s’est implanté à Aubusson dès la première moitié du 16ème siècle. Un temple, aujourd’hui détruit, a été bâti au début du 17ème. L’entrée du passage qui menait à ce lieu de culte est encore visible dans la rue Vieille. Suivez, grâce à cet audioguide, l’histoire mouvementée de la construction de ce temple.

Les autres parcours