Castle and chapel of Saint Jean

Bookmark and Share

Read more

The site of a former castle dating back to 1870 whose gateway is all that remains today; this was the location chosen by Charles Sallandrouze for the construction of the Château Saint Jean residence in 1902. 

Alongside Château Sallandrouze and Villa Saint Jean, Château Saint Jean formed part of the employer’s accommodation for the Sallandrouze Frères factory. After the outbreak of a fire in 1914, the roofs of the buildings were modified. On the main building, the small steeple on top of the gable end has been replaced by a queue de geai, giving it the distinct look of a tourist residence.

The eclectic style of the building features Art Nouveau influences. With no symmetrical aspects, the façade is brought to life with openwork detail, as if taking on a life of its own. The castle portrays a sense of freedom: the roofs are tiered in a variety of forms, each window is unique; the dormers feature a variety of designs.

The building draws inspiration from local architecture, hence the presence of an overhanging turret and also incorporates references to fortified architecture.

Today, Château Saint-Jean operates as a rest home and as such has a new wing and dining room.

The land surrounding the castle was developed according to the wishes of Charles Sallandrouze. It now belongs to the local council and features a rose garden with traditional species and original creations.

Situated further up the street, the chapel of Saint Jean is a 12th century parish church, converted into a chapel with the decline of the parish and extensively modified during the 15th and 16th centuries.

In 1818, ownership of the chapel was transferred to the Sallandrouze family, who put it to use it as a chapel of rest.

Etapes suivantes

Aubusson tapestry

Castle and chapel of Saint Jean

The manor house known as “Château Saint Jean” is the former employer’s lodging of the Sallandrouze family. This video will introduce you to the detailed architecture of this building which boasts a sense of freedom and strong Art Nouveau influences, and lead you to discover the chapel of Saint Jean which can be found just a little further up the street.

Other courses

Le Château Saint Jean et la chapelle

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

A l’emplacement d’un ancien château de 1780 dont ne subsiste que le portail d’entrée, Charles Sallandrouze a bâti en 1902 la demeure appelée « Château Saint Jean ».

Comme le « Château Sallandrouze » et la Villa Saint Jean, le château Saint Jean était un logement patronal lié à la manufacture Sallandrouze Frères. Après un incendie survenu en 1914, les toitures sont modifiées. Sur le pavillon central, le pignon surmonté d’un clocheton a été remplacé par une queue de geai, lui conférant un style villégiature plus prononcé.

Ce bâtiment de style éclectique porte l’influence de l’Art Nouveau. Aucune symétrie, la façade s’anime de jeux de pleins et de vides, comme si la paroi prenait vie. Le château produit une grande impression de liberté : les toitures s’étagent avec des formes variées,
aucune fenêtre n’est identique ; les lucarnes ont des dessins différents.

L’édifice s’inspire également de l’architecture locale, d’où la présence d’une tourelle en surplomb. Il intègre aussi des références à l’architecture fortifiée.

Le château Saint-Jean est aujourd’hui devenu maison de retraite. Pour cela, il a été doté d’une nouvelle aile et d’une salle de restaurant.

En contrebas du château, un parc avait été aménagé selon les désirs de Charles Sallandrouze. Il appartient désormais à la municipalité et a été transformé en roseraie, composée d’espèces anciennes et de créations originales.

La chapelle Saint Jean, située plus haut dans la rue, est une ancienne église paroissiale du 12ème siècle, devenue chapelle avec le déclin de sa paroisse et fortement remaniée aux 15ème et 16ème siècles.

En 1818, elle est devenue la propriété de la famille Sallandrouze qui l’utilisait comme chapelle funéraire.

Etapes suivantes

Aubusson tapisserie

Le Château Saint Jean et la chapelle

La grande demeure appelée « Château Saint Jean » est un ancien logement patronal de la famille Sallandrouze. Observez grâce à cette vidéo les détails d’architecture de cet édifice aux formes d’une grande liberté, fortement influencées par l’Art Nouveau et découvrez la chapelle Saint Jean qui se trouve un peu plus haut dans la rue.

Les autres parcours