Audio commentary voice : Sarah LAFAYE, CRT

Bookmark and Share

Read more

The Aubusson war memorial was built in 1922. It features a statue created by sculptor Auguste Lardillier, who was born in Aubusson and trained at the Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts in Paris. He exhibited his work regularly from 1891 onwards and designed a statue of Saint Teresa and Infant Jesus for the basilica of Lisieux.

The war memorial statue depicts a soldier of the Great War deliberately stripped of any weapons. He is placing laurels on a grave surmounted by a cross and a helmet. The title of the work, displayed at the foot of the statue, explains the meaning of the scene: ‘Partage des Lauriers de la Victoire’ – ‘sharing the laurels of victory’ with the men who gave their lives for their country.

The youthful features of the soldier with his face hidden in the shade of the helmet give the sculpture a profound sense of melancholy. The fullness of its breadth and the smooth purity of its surface are reminiscent of the work of sculptor Aristide Maillol and his “primitive classicism”. The statue was enhanced with chasing and patina by the bronze founder, Ferdinand Barbedienne. This famous French manufacturer invented a new process of bronze reproduction for art objects.

The war memorial bears testimony to the heavy price paid by the town of Aubusson in the Great War, with over 470 deaths throughout the canton. The location of the monument in the town centre makes it a powerful symbol which expresses remembrance and respect, whilst serving as a manifesto for peace.

Etapes suivantes

20th century Aubusson

War memorial

Built in 1922, the war memorial features a statue created by the famous sculptor, Auguste Lardillier. Find out more about this work of art, as well as the sculptor and artisan founder who created it, by listening to this audio commentary.

Other courses

Le monument aux morts



Voix de l’audioguide : Juliette CHALARD-DESCHAMPS, Région Limousin

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Le monument aux morts d’Aubusson a été édifié en 1922. Il porte une statue du sculpteur Auguste Lardillier. Cet artiste, né à Aubusson, a été formé à l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Paris. Il a exposé régulièrement aux Salons à partir de 1891 et il a conçu une statue de sainte Thérèse à l’Enfant pour la basilique de Lisieux.

La statue du monument aux morts représente un soldat de la Grande Guerre volontairement dépouillé de toute arme. Il dépose des lauriers sur une tombe, surmontée d’une croix et d’un casque. Le titre de l’œuvre, porté aux pieds de la statue, explique le sens de la scène : le Partage des Lauriers de la Victoire avec les hommes qui ont donné leur vie pour la patrie.

L’aspect juvénile du soldat et son visage noyé dans l’ombre portée du casque confèrent à cette sculpture une profonde mélancolie. La plénitude heureuse des volumes et la pureté lisse des surfaces évoquent le travail du sculpteur Aristide Maillol et son « classicisme primitif ». Le fondeur, Ferdinand Barbedienne, a sublimé l’œuvre grâce à son travail de ciselure et de patine. Ce célèbre industriel français avait inventé un nouveau procédé de reproduction en bronze des objets d’art.

Ce monument aux morts témoigne du lourd tribut que la commune d’Aubusson a payé à la Grande Guerre. On dénombra en effet plus de 470 morts dans tout le canton. La situation du monument, au coeur du centre ville, est un symbole puissant, qui exprime le souvenir et le respect, tout en se voulant un manifeste pour la paix.

Etapes suivantes

Aubusson 20ème siècle

Le monument aux morts

Le monument aux morts, édifié en 1922, porte une statue du sculpteur Auguste Lardillier. Apprenez en plus sur cette œuvre, ainsi que sur le sculpteur et l’artisan fondeur qui l’ont réalisée, grâce à ce commentaire audio.

Les autres parcours