Place d’Espagne fountain



Audio commentary voice : Sarah LAFAYE, CRT

Bookmark and Share

Read more

The fountain located in Place d’Espagne is made entirely from granite and features four spouts in the form of lion muzzles from which the water flows.

The basin is a former baptismal font which may date back as far as the 13th century. It bears traces of a sculpture featuring foliage scrolls, tori and a meticulously carved, intricate garland of flowers and fruits.

This baptismal font has an extraordinary history. It originally belonged to the monastery of Moutier-Roseille, a village situated about 10 km from Aubusson, and was given to the town of Aubusson by the canons of the village in 1770, after a restoration campaign at the monastery. But the handover did not go smoothly. Taking advantage of the work being carried out in the collegiate church, the inhabitants of Moutier-Roseille had transported the baptismal font to their local parish church to use as a font several years earlier. They refused to hand it over, so it had to be removed by force with the assistance of members of the mounted constabulary and several men armed with guns.

The fountain was constructed in the middle of the square two years later in 1772, as you can see on postcards dating back to the early 20th century. It wasn’t until the 1960’s that the fountain was relocated to its current position in front of Maison Prugnier.

Etapes suivantes

Aubusson heritage

Place d’Espagne fountain

The Place d’Espagne fountain dates back to 1772, however its basin is actually a former baptismal font which could date back as far as the 13th century. Listen to this audio guide to find out more about its history and construction.

Other courses

La fontaine place d’Espagne



Voix de l’audioguide : Juliette CHALARD-DESCHAMPS

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

La fontaine de la place d’Espagne est entièrement en granite. L’eau se déverse par quatre bouches décorées de mufles de lion.

La vasque est une ancienne cuve baptismale qui pourrait dater du 13ème siècle. Elle porte les traces d’une sculpture composée de rinceaux, de tores et d’une riche guirlande de fleurs et de fruits finement travaillée.

Cette cuve baptismale a connu une histoire singulière. Elle appartenait à l’origine au monastère de Moutier-Roseille, une commune située à une dizaine de km d’Aubusson. Elle a été offerte à la Ville d’Aubusson par les chanoines du Moutier-Roseille en 1770, après une campagne de restauration du monastère. Mais cette cession ne s’est pas faite sans difficulté. En effet, quelques années plus tôt, profitant des travaux dans l’église collégiale, les habitants de Moutier-Rozeille avaient transporté la cuve baptismale dans leur église paroissiale, pour s’en servir de bénitier. Ils refusaient de la restituer. Elle a dû être enlevée par la force, avec l’aide de cavaliers de la maréchaussée et de plusieurs hommes armés de fusils.

La fontaine a été bâtie deux ans plus tard, en 1772, au centre de la place, comme le montrent les cartes postales du début du 20e siècle. C’est seulement dans les années 60 qu’elle a été déplacée devant la maison Prugnier.

Etapes suivantes

Aubusson patrimoine ancien

La fontaine place d’Espagne

La fontaine de la place d’Espagne date de 1772 mais sa vasque est une ancienne cuve baptismale qui pourrait dater du 13ème siècle. Ecoutez cet audio guide pour en savoir plus sur son histoire et sa construction.

Les autres parcours