The Maison du Tapissier



Audio commentary voice : Sarah LAFAYE, CRT

Bookmark and Share

Read more

This building is home to a museum devoted to tapestry making and offers demonstrations for visitors. Bookings can be made with the local tourist office.

It is possible the building dates back to the 15th century and is likely to be one of the oldest in the town. The corner of the house features an overhanging turret seated on a moulded corbel, crowned with a chestnut-shingle-covered ‘pepper pot’ roof topped with a wrought iron weather vane.

Despite the impression of unity provided by the moulded string courses which feature continuously from one façade to the other, the levels of the rooms on each floor are staggered. This suggests that the building was originally two or three separate houses, knocked into one during the 16th or 17th century. The ground level overlooking Rue Vieille appears to have been used for commercial purposes from the outset, with a shop bay window featuring a three-centred arch.

During the 17th century the house was owned by the Corneille family, who were tapestry makers of the royal manufactory of Aubusson, where they did the weaving for the piece entitled ‘The Life of Joan of Arc’, now held at the Château d’Ussé (Indre-et-Loire).

The framework of one of the doors overlooking Rue Vieille features bevelling underneath a tall fanlight.

The door overlooking Rue de la Roche is fitted with elaborate hinges and nails, and also boasts a glass fanlight and beautiful door knocker.

Etapes suivantes

Aubusson heritage

The Maison du Tapissier

The Maison du Tapissier (Tapestry Weaver’s House) owes its name to the small museum devoted to the trade contained within its walls. Follow the stages in the construction of this 15th century Aubusson house courtesy of this audio commentary.

Other courses

La Maison du tapissier



Voix de l’audioguide : Juliette CHALARD-DESCHAMPS, Région Limousin

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Cette maison abrite un espace muséographique dédié au métier de tapissier. Des démonstrations y sont présentées aux visiteurs. L’entrée se fait par l’Office de tourisme.

Le bâtiment daterait du 15ème siècle et serait l´un des plus anciens de la ville. L’angle de cette maison est agrémenté d’une tourelle en surplomb qui est assise sur un cul-de-lampe mouluré, couronnée d’un toit en poivrière recouvert de bardeaux de châtaignier et surmontée d’une girouette en fer forgé.

Malgré l’impression d’unité donnée par le cordon mouluré qui se poursuit d´une façade à l´autre, les niveaux des pièces d’un même étage sont décalés. Ce décalage suggère qu’il s’agissait initialement de deux ou trois maisons distinctes, raccordées en une seule au 16ème ou au 17ème siècle. L´étage de soubassement donnant sur la rue Vieille semble avoir été dès l’origine destiné à un usage commercial, avec sa baie de boutique dont l’arc est en anse de panier.

Au 17e siècle, la maison était la propriété de la famille Corneille, tapissiers de la Manufacture Royale d´Aubusson. Ils y exécutèrent notamment le tissage de la tenture de la Vie de Jeanne d´Arc, conservée au château d´Ussé (Indre-et-Loire).

L’encadrement d’une des portes donnant sur la rue Vieille est chanfreiné et surmonté d’une haute imposte.

La porte donnant sur la rue de la Roche, agrémentée de clous et de pentures travaillées, est dotée d’une imposte vitrée et d’un beau heurtoir.

Etapes suivantes

Aubusson patrimoine ancien

La Maison du tapissier

La « maison du tapissier », est ainsi appelée car elle abrite un petit espace muséographique dédié à ce métier.  Suivez les étapes de construction de cette maison aubussonnaise du 15ème siècle grâce à un ce commentaire audio.

Les autres parcours