History of the abbey
Bookmark and Share

Read more

Bénévent’s history goes back to 1080, when a group of hermits founded a church and a priory here, in order to live by the rules of Saint Augustine. The priory’s regular Canons took a vow of poverty, chastity and obedience, with principles of moderation and fraternal charity. They were placed under strict dependency of Limoges cathedral’s Cisterician bishop and Canons, who gave them the land in order to build their priory upon it.

Saint Bartholomew’s relics were donated to them by the Italian town of Benevento in Campania. Bénévent’s name appeared as a reference to this event. Saint Bartholomew is one of the 12 Apostles. He is often represented holding his martyr’s knife or with his skin in his hand.

During the Middle Ages, these relics contributed to the priory’s wealth, by attracting worshippers and pilgrims, who showed their devotion by donating. The little town of Bénévent was built around this monastic centre.

In the 15th century, the priory became an abbey. Its large income came from fees it collected. Its land and woods spread out over several territories, in Limousin as well as in Poitou.

It prospered throughout the Middle Ages, but in the 16th century, was pillaged and suffered several fires, in a context of religious wars. Its income decreased drastically in the 17th and 18th centuries, as did the income of many other abbeys.  The abbey’s properties became national goods during the French Revolution, and were sold to private individuals, then bought back again in some cases, by the town, in 1822.

In 1848, the town of Bénévent became « Bénévent l’Abbaye », in reference to its historical origins.


Etapes suivantes

History and savoir-faire

History of the abbey

This video takes visitors back to the medieval origins of Bénévent, which developed around the priory, then around the abbey. Discover the important steps of Bénévent’s history.

Other courses

Histoire de l’abbaye
Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire


L’Histoire de Bénévent trouve ses origines en 1080, lorsqu’un groupe d’ermites vient y fonder une église et un prieuré pour y vivre selon la règle de Saint Augustin. Les chanoines réguliers de ce prieuré s’unissent autour des vœux de pauvreté, de chasteté et d’obéissance, et des principes de modération et de charité fraternelle. Ils sont placés sous l’étroite dépendance de l’évêque et des chanoines cisterciens de la cathédrale de Limoges, qui leur ont cédé les terres pour la construction du prieuré.

Ils reçoivent en donation des reliques de Saint Barthélémy, qui proviennent de la ville italienne de Benevento, en Campanie. C’est en référence à cet événement qu’apparait le nom de Bénévent. Saint Barthélémy est l’un des douze apôtres, souvent représenté avec le couteau de son martyr ou sa peau à la main.

Au cours du Moyen Age, ces reliques permettent l’essor du prieuré en attirant fidèles et pèlerins dont la dévotion se traduit par des dons. La petite ville de Bénévent se construit peu à peu autour de ce centre monastique.

Au XVème siècle, le prieuré prend le statut d’abbaye. Ses revenus sont importants grâce aux redevances dont elle jouit. Ses terres et ses bois s’étendent sur des territoires voisins, en Limousin et jusque dans le Poitou.

Mais si elle prospère tout au long du Moyen Age, elle subit au 16ème siècle pillages et incendies dans le contexte des guerres de religion, et ses revenus diminuent considérablement au 17ème et 18ème siècle, comme bon nombre d’abbayes. A la Révolution, les propriétés de l’abbaye, devenues biens nationaux, sont vendues à des particuliers, puis en partie rachetées par la commune en 1822.

En 1848, la commune de Bénévent complète son nom pour devenir Bénévent l’Abbaye, en référence à ses origines historiques.

Etapes suivantes

Histoire et savoir-faire

Histoire de l’abbaye

A travers cette vidéo, remontez aux origines médiévales de Bénévent, qui s’est développée autour d’un prieuré puis d’une abbaye, et suivez les grandes étapes de son histoire.

Les autres parcours