Black Penitents’ chapel

Bookmark and Share

Read more

There is a chapel dedicated to Saint Maximin next to the church in Collonges. It was most likely built in the 14th century, and is said to have belonged to Collonges’s priory. From the beginning, it was assigned to certain local families’ tombstones, namely the Maussac family, whose coat of arms can still be seen on the chapel’s keystone, above the walled-in door.

From the middle of the 17th century until the late 19th century, it became a meeting place for the « Black Penitents »: a brotherhood of laymen who carried out acts of charity and devotion. They organized processions and wore black clothing and hoods. Many religious objects still present in the chapel belonged to this brotherhood, such as procession lanterns, and a Passion cross, which the laymen would wear to opening ceremonies during Holy week. The recumbent Christ statue, which can be seen in the church, used to be carried by the Black Penitents and exposed on Good Friday.

When the brotherhood ended, the chapel was abandoned and its roof crumbled to pieces. “Les Amis de Collonges” association collected funds and started renovating the chapel in 1927. They repaired the framework, roof and the top of the belfry.

In 2014, the association launched a contemporary stained-glass window project in the chapel, thanks to public funds, collected by the “Fondation du Patrimoine”. Artist Didier Mencoboni and craftsman Olivier Juteau were selected. Their idea was to play with the light shining through elliptical shapes, to create colourful projections, which vary according to the position of the sun.

The other stained-glass window represents Saint John the Baptist. It was created by famous Limousin glassblower Francis Chigot, in 1936. He also created one of the stained-glass windows in Collonges’s church as well as in many other buildings in Limousin, such as Benedictins train station in Limoges.

Etapes suivantes

Between towers and “castels”

Black Penitents’ chapel

This 14th century chapel used to be home to a « Black Penitents » friary. Nowadays it is a place for contemporary creations and has stained glass windows by an artist/glass-maker. Learn all about the chapel in this video.

Other courses

La chapelle des Pénitents Noirs

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

A côté de l’église de Collonges se dresse une chapelle dédiée à Saint Maximin. Elle daterait du 14e siècle et aurait appartenu au prieuré de Collonges. Dès l’origine, elle est affectée à la sépulture de certaines familles locales, notamment les Maussac dont on peut encore voir les armoiries au-dessus d’une porte murée et sur une clé de voûte de la chapelle.

A partir du milieu du 17ème siècle et jusqu’à la fin du 19ème, elle devient le lieu de rassemblement des Pénitents noirs, une confrérie de laïques qui réalisent des actions de piété et de charité et qui défilent en procession, revêtus et cagoulés de noir. De nombreux objets de culte conservés dans la chapelle appartenaient à cette confrérie, comme ces lanternes de procession, ou cette croix de la passion qu’ils portaient lors des cérémonies d’ouverture de la semaine sainte. Le Christ gisant visible dans l’église était également transporté par les pénitents noirs et exposé le vendredi saint.

Après la disparition de la confrérie, la chapelle tombe en ruine et sa toiture s’écroule. L’association les Amis de Collonges recueille des fonds et entreprend à partir de 1927 des travaux de restauration. Elle restaure la charpente et la toiture ainsi que le sommet du clocher-mur.

En 2014 l’association lance un projet de création de vitraux contemporains dans la chapelle avec l’aide d’une souscription publique collectée par la Fondation du Patrimoine. L’artiste Didier Mencoboni et l’artisan Olivier Juteau sont retenus pour leur proposition où le jeu de la lumière à travers les motifs elliptiques crée des projections colorées qui varient en fonction de la position du soleil.

L’autre vitrail, qui représente Saint Jean Baptiste, est une création d’un célèbre maître verrier du Limousin, Francis Chigot, en 1936. Il a aussi réalisé l’un des vitraux de l’église de Collonges et ceux de nombreux édifices en Limousin, comme la gare de Limoges.

Etapes suivantes

Entre tours et castels

La chapelle des Pénitents Noirs

Cette chapelle du 14ème siècle a accueilli autrefois une confrérie de pénitents noirs et s’ouvre aujourd’hui à la création contemporaine avec ses vitraux réalisés par un artiste et un maître verrier. Elle vous est ici présentée en vidéo.

Les autres parcours