Audio Commentary voice : Sarah LAFAYE, CRT

Bookmark and Share

Read more

This chapel was rebuilt over the remnants of an older building from 1620 to 1624, by local lord John the 2nd of Lasteyrie du Saillant, the owner of the nearby castle. Its architecture is sober, with a single nave and a flat chevet. There is a wall bell-tower with two windows on the chapel’s red sandstone and schist façade. There are pilasters on either side of the door, and above it, a semi-circular pediment which shelters a limestone Our Lady of Pity statue, that dates back to the end of the Middle Ages.

Inside, in a wall niche, there is a 16th century wooden polychrome and golden sculpture.  It is a high relief Virgin and child. It refers to a legend that says that the Virgin’s house was threatened by invaders and transported by angels from Nazareth to the small town of Loreto in Italy. The Virgin is depicted breastfeeding, on the top of her house.

Etapes suivantes

Allassac, Saint-Viance, Voutezac

Le Saillant chapel

Le Saillant chapel is linked to the nearby castle, owned by the Lasteyrie du Saillant family. Learn about its history thanks to this audioguide and discover the surprising Notre Dame de Laurette, hidden inside the chapel.

Other courses

La chapelle du saillant



Voix de l’audioguide : Juliette CHALARD-DESCHAMPS, Région Limousin

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Cette chapelle a été reconstruite de 1620 à 1624 sur les vestiges d’un édifice plus ancien par Jean II de Lasteyrie du Saillant, seigneur du château voisin. Son architecture est sobre, avec une nef unique et un chevet plat. La façade de grès rouge et de schiste qui donne sur la rue est surmontée d’un clocher-mur, percé de deux baies. Le portail est flanqué de pilastres et surmonté d’un fronton semi-circulaire qui abrite une Vierge de Pitié en calcaire de la fin du Moyen Age.

A l’intérieur, dans une niche murale, se trouve une sculpture du 16ème siècle, en bois polychrome et doré. C’est une Vierge à l’Enfant sculptée en haut-relief. La représentation fait référence à une légende selon laquelle la maison de la Vierge, menacée par des envahisseurs, est transportée par des anges de Nazareth jusqu’à la petite ville de Lorette en Italie. La Vierge allaitant est ici représentée sur le toit de sa maison.

Etapes suivantes

Allassac, Saint-Viance, Voutezac

La chapelle du saillant

La chapelle du Saillant est liée au château voisin, propriété de la famille de Lasteyrie du Saillant. Ecoutez son histoire grâce à cet audioguide et découvrez l’étonnante statue Notre Dame de Laurette qui se cache dans la chapelle.

Les autres parcours