Saint-Viance enamelled shrine
Bookmark and Share

Read more

This shrine was made between 1225 and 1250. It contains the relics of Viance, who was born in Anjou and died in lower Limousin in the 7th century. It is made of wood and covered with thin copper plates which were shaped, covered with gold, and enameled.

On the front side, in the middle upper part, a Christ in Majesty appears, in an almond-shaped opening, symbolizing the passage from one world to another. He is surrounded by the emblems of the 4 evangelists:  an angelr for Matthew, an eagle for John, a lion for Mark and a bull for Luke.  On the lower part of the almond shape are a Virgin Mary and child. They are surrounded by angels, two of which are now missing. There are eight apostles standing beneath arches. A ninth apostle is standing on the panel on the shrine’s left hand side.

All of these embossed characters were shaped before being placed on the shrine. They were covered with a thin coat of gold and placed in the centre of enameled blue plates.

On the back of the shrine, there are engraved and enameled medallions. The three upper medallions represent scenes from The Passion of the Christ: the Flagellation, the Crucifixion and the appearance of the angel of Resurrection. The three lower medallions represent  episodes of Viance’s death. To the left is an angel announcing Viance’s death to his friend Savinien. In the middle, Viance’s hearse is being pulled by an ox and a bear. According to the legend, the bear ate the second ox and took its place. The saint-to-be’s funeral is represented on the right side of the shrine. There is an opening on the shrine’s right gable.

The holy oil container is a few decades older than the shrine. It is decorated using the very same medieval « champlevé » technique. “Champlevé” was a typical Limousin skill back in the early 13th century, the golden age of Limousin enamel.

Etapes suivantes

Allassac, Saint-Viance, Voutezac

Saint-Viance enamelled shrine

A remarkable 13th century enamelled shrine and holy oil container can be found in Saint Viance church. Discover these two gorgeous objects thanks in this video, before you get a chance to actually visit the church and see them “for real”!

Other courses

La châsse émaillée de Saint-Viance
Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Cette châsse reliquaire a été réalisée entre 1225 et 1250 pour abriter les reliques de Viance, saint né en Anjou et mort en Bas Limousin au VIIème siècle. Elle est constituée d’une structure de bois recouverte de fines plaques de cuivre façonnées, dorées et émaillées.

Sur la face avant, au centre du registre supérieur, le Christ en Majesté apparaît dans une mandorle, forme d’amande qui symbolise le passage d’un monde à l’autre. Il est entouré des symboles des 4 évangélistes : l’ange pour Matthieu, l’aigle pour Jean, le lion pour Marc et le Taureau pour Luc. Dans le registre inférieur, la mandorle est occupée par la Vierge à l’enfant, entourée par des anges, dont deux ont disparu. Huit apôtres sont disposés sous des arcatures de part et d’autre de ces figures. Un neuvième apôtre est situé sur le pignon gauche.

Toutes ces figures en relief sont réalisées à part avant d’être fixées. Finement dorées, elles prennent place au centre de décors émaillés où domine la couleur bleue.

Sur la face arrière de la châsse, le décor est constitué de médaillons gravés et émaillés. Les trois médaillons supérieurs représentent des scènes de la passion du Christ : la Flagellation, le Calvaire et l’apparition de l’ange de la Résurrection. Les trois médaillons inférieurs représentent des épisodes de la mort de Viance. A gauche, un ange annonce son décès à son ami Savinien. Au centre, le chariot funèbre de Viance est tiré par un bœuf et un ours. Selon la légende, l’ours a mangé le deuxième bœuf et a pris sa place dans l’attelage. A droite est représenté l’enterrement du futur saint.

La châsse s’ouvre par une porte située sur le pignon droit.

Le coffret aux saintes huiles est antérieur à la châsse de quelques décennies. Ses décors utilisent la même technique médiévale de l’émail champlevé, spécialité de la production de Limoges au début du 13ème siècle, époque de l’âge d’or des émaux limousins.

Etapes suivantes

Allassac, Saint-Viance, Voutezac

La châsse émaillée de Saint-Viance

Dans l’église de Saint Viance sont conservées une remarquable châsse émaillée du 13ème siècle, ainsi qu’une boîte aux saintes huiles de la même époque. Découvrez la présentation de ces deux magnifiques objets dans cette vidéo avant d’aller les admirer de vos propres yeux.

Les autres parcours