The collegiate church and its homogenous architecture

Bookmark and Share

Read more

Eric Sparhubert interview, Medieval History lecturer at the University of Limoges :

« The Collegiate church is quite a homogenous building. It is the result of an uninterrupted construction plan. Its original layout was pre-established, cleverly thought out and well-financed. The Canons’ monumental choices were the result of a true monumental ambition, with elements such as an ambulatory chevet and radiating chapels, the crossing tower, large transept, large nave, and a façade massif, which are typical monumental elements of great Limousin Romanesque churches, such as Saint-Martial church in Limoges, and Limoges cathedral, to name a few examples.

What shows that we are dealing with a project as a whole is the construction’s homogeneity. So an uninterrupted building constructed following a plan, which shows that it was probably pre-established. Its harmony also comes from the fact that it was hardly restored and scarcely modified throughout the years. Thus, the collegiate church is an extremely homogenous edifice, with a type of original pureness, which is actually quite rare for a 12th century building, with the exception of the 15th century fortification tower on the axis chapel.

The crossing tower, which is a lantern tower, is one of the collegiate church’s most remarkable architectural elements. This type of tower is set upon a level of lighting, so that the choir is lit up. A true testimony of architectural bravery, which is part of a tradition – namely that of Saint-Junien collegiate church, which has a large crossing tower. However, Le Dorat’s crossing tower is both larger and more monumental.»

There is a crypt, hidden beneath the church choir. Its plan and dimensions are the same as the chevet’s. Its apse, which holds an altar, is surrounded by an ambulatory which opens up onto three small radiating apses. This architectural system was conceived to greet a flow of pilgrims, who came to the church for a procession before relics.

Etapes suivantes

From the church to the Bergere Door

The collegiate church and its homogenous architecture

 

This great Romanesque church, called a “collegiate church” because it was part of a chapter of canons, has kept its harmonious 12th century architecture. Learn all about its construction thanks to Eric Sparhubert.

Other courses

La collégiale et son architecture homogène
Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Sous le chœur de la collégiale se cache une crypte, de même plan et de mêmes dimensions que le chevet. Son abside, abritant un autel, est ceinturée par un déambulatoire ouvrant sur trois absidioles rayonnantes. Ce dispositif architectural a été conçu pour accueillir un flux de pèlerins défilant en procession devant des reliques.

La Collégiale est un édifice très homogène qui relève d’une campagne de construction continue et qui relève à l’origine d’un plan préétabli et très bien pensé et d’un projet très bien financé également. Les choix monumentaux des chanoines répondent à une ambition de grandeur qui témoigne d’une véritable ambition monumentale en reprenant des éléments comme le chevet à déambulatoire à chapelles rayonnantes, la tour de croisée, un grand transept, une grande nef, un massif de façade, qui sont les éléments monumentaux des grandes églises romanes du Limousin comme par exemple Saint-Martial de Limoges, la Cathédrale de Limoges parmi d’autres.

Les éléments qui montrent que l’on a une architecture qui répond à un programme d’ensemble c’est qu’il y a très peu de rupture dans la construction. Donc, une construction continue selon un plan, donc on imagine préétablie. Elle est harmonieuse aussi, surtout parce qu’elle a connue très peu de restaurations, de modifications au cours du temps, ce qui fait de la collégiale un édifice très homogène et qui présente une sorte de pureté originelle qui finalement est rare pour un édifice du XIIème siècle à l’exception de la tour de fortification du XVème siècle sur la chapelle d’axe.

Parmi les éléments d’architecture les plus remarquables pour la collégiale : il faut signaler la tour de croisée qui est une tour lanterne. Donc une tour qui est installée sur un niveau d’éclairage afin d’éclairer directement le chœur. C’est un véritable morceau de bravoure architecturale qui s’inscrit dans une tradition – notamment la collégiale de Saint-Junien possède une grande tour de croisée – mais celle du Dorat les dépasse en dimensions et en ambition monumentale.

Etapes suivantes

De la collégiale à la Porte Bergère

La collégiale et son architecture homogène

Cette grande église romane, appelée collégiale car elle dépendait d’un chapitre de chanoines, a conservé son harmonieuse architecture du 12ème siècle. Elle nous est ici présentée par Eric Sparhubert qui analyse le programme de construction.

Les autres parcours