Building Meymac

Bookmark and Share

Read more

Beginning in the 11th century, the town of Meymac grew up around the Benedictine monastery, which in the 12th century later became an abbey. This first medieval village became the lower town which, to this day, is made up of densely packed dwellings.

It was protected by a fortified perimeter wall and guarded by 4 gates, of which at least two were flanked by a tower. You can still see traces of the old fortifications. Outside the walls of the town, protection was also afforded by the Luzège river which had been rerouted to form a broad channel. In addition to their defensive function, the fortifications also made for an excellent quarantine boundary. This meant that in 1458 guards could be posted at the town’s gates to deny entry to any travellers coming from areas infected by the plague.

In the lower town as it stands today you can still see beautiful examples of Medieval architecture. This house is partially half-timbered. This sort of overhanging annex was built out of lightweight materials (wood and clay earth) in order to increase the size of houses in areas with limited space. These extended houses take up the entire width of the street and form a covered passage. This is known as an archway structure.
This house has preserved a supporting lintel and the side walls of a mullioned window, while the neighbouring house has an ogee tympanum above the door.

Beyond the ramparts, a suburb grew up around the castle of the Viscounts of Ventadours to form the upper town. The town hall now stands on this site. One of the houses in this neighbourhood has preserved its overhanging defensive bartizan.

In the 17th century, new artisans’ districts began to appear. And from the end of the 19th and into the 20th centuries, the town developed along the main access routes.

Etapes suivantes

Around the abbey

Building Meymac

Watch this video and explore how the town grew up around the abbey in medieval times, then beyond the walls, around the old Viscounts castle and the suburbs.

Other courses

La construction de Meymac

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Meymac s’est développée à partir du 11ème siècle autour d’un monastère bénédictin devenu abbaye au 12ème siècle. Ce premier bourg médiéval a formé la partie basse de la ville, qui a conservé jusqu’à nos jours un habitat très dense.

Il était protégé par une enceinte fortifiée, dont subsistent quelques vestiges. Elle était gardée par 4 portes dont au moins deux étaient flanquées d’une tour. La Luzège, détournée pour former un large canal (La Chenal), formait une deuxième protection à l’extérieur de ces murs. Outre leurs fonctions défensives, les fortifications permettaient entre autres d’établir un cordon sanitaire. Ainsi, en 1458, des gardes ont été postés aux portes de la ville pour en interdire l’accès aux voyageurs en provenance des régions contaminées par la peste.

La ville basse présente encore de beaux éléments d’architecture de la fin du Moyen Age. Cette maison comporte une partie en pan de bois. Ce type d’appendices était construit en surplomb avec des matériaux légers (bois et torchis) pour agrandir les maisons dans les zones où l’on manquait de place. Ici, l’agrandissement de la maison occupe toute la largeur de la rue et forme un passage couvert. Cette structure porte le nom de pontet.
Cette autre maison a conservé un cordon d’appui et le piédroit d’une fenêtre géminée, tandis que sa voisine possède un tympan à accolade au-dessus de sa porte.

Au-delà des remparts, un faubourg s’est développé pour former la ville haute autour du château des Vicomtes de Ventadour, situé à l’emplacement de l’actuel hôtel de ville. L’une des maisons de ce quartier a conservé une bretèche, élément défensif construit en surplomb.

De nouveaux quartiers d’artisans sont apparus au 17e siècle, puis la ville s’est développée de manière concentrique à partir des principales voies de communication à la fin du 19ème et tout au long du 20ème siècle.

Etapes suivantes

Autour de l’abbaye

La construction de Meymac

Découvrez à travers cette vidéo comment la ville s’est développée à l’époque médiévale autour de l’abbaye, puis au-delà de l’enceinte dans le quartier de l’ancien château des Vicomtes et les faubourgs.

Les autres parcours