The Pompadour family and castle


Audio commentary voice : Sarah LAFAYE, CRT

Bookmark and Share

Read more

Pompadour castle was founded in the 11th century, by the lords of Lastours. It was run by two lords until the 13th century, when the Hélie family, from the neighbouring castle of Ségur, imposed itself as the castle’s only master.

In the 1500s, the Hélies, who had given themselves the name of “Pompadour”, asserted themselves as one of the province’s most powerful families. They completely transformed the medieval castrum into a sophisticated castle, with ornaments announcing the first signs of the Renaissance style.

In 1614, the Pompadour family managed to obtain the title of « Marquis », but the lineage did not last beyond the late 17th century.

In 1745, King Louis XV purchased the domain and granted his mistress Jeanne-Antoinette Poisson the title of “Marquess of Pompadour”. She didn’t settle down here, because of the distance with the King’s court, but she kept her title when she sold the domain in 1761. The King recovered it in 1762 and founded a royal stud farm there.

Etapes suivantes

Stud farm and castle tour

The Pompadour family and castle

This is where the story begins ! This audio guide tells you how a local family of lords had this castle built in the early 16th century, before being granted the « Marquis de Pompadour” title, which King Louis XV then gave to his mistress, Jeanne-Antoinette Poisson.

Other courses

La famille et le château de Pompadour


Voix de l’audioguide : Juliette CHALARD-DESCHAMPS

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Le château de Pompadour est fondé au 11ème siècle par les seigneurs Lastours. Il est géré en coseigneurie jusqu’au 13ème siècle, quand la famille Hélie, du château voisin de Ségur, s’impose comme unique maître des lieux.

Dans les années 1500, les Hélie qui ont pris le nom de Pompadour, s’affirment comme l’une des plus puissantes familles de la province. Ils transforment entièrement le castrum médiéval en un château raffiné, orné de décors qui répondent déjà aux prémices du style Renaissance.

Les Pompadour parviennent à obtenir en 1614 le titre de marquis, mais la lignée s’éteint à la fin du 17ème siècle.

En 1745, le roi Louis XV rachète le domaine et accorde à sa favorite Jeanne-Antoinette Poisson le titre de marquise de Pompadour. Elle n’élit pas résidence sur ces terres, trop éloignées de la cour, mais conserve son titre de marquise de Pompadour lorsqu’elle revend le domaine en 1761. Le roi le récupère en 1762 pour y fonder un haras royal.

Etapes suivantes

Parcours château et haras

La famille et le château de Pompadour

Commençons par le début de l’histoire ! Ce commentaire audio vous raconte comment une famille de seigneurs locaux a fait bâtir ce château au début du 16ème siècle, avant d’obtenir le titre de Marquis de Pompadour que le roi Louis XV accordera ensuite à sa favorite Jeanne-Antoinette Poisson.

Les autres parcours