The Millevanche Plateau Forest

Bookmark and Share

Read more


At first glance, the wooded countryside surrounding Meymac appears ancient and immutable. Yet, just one hundred years ago it was a very different picture!

Meymac lies on the edge of the Millevanches plateau, also known as “Limousine Mountain”, not far from Mont-Bessou, the highest point in Corrèze at some 984 metres. The lands across the plain are varied, alternating between peat moors, mountainous areas and small valleys.

10,000 years ago, forests dominated the landscape, but farming during various different periods since Roman times caused them to recede.
In the 19th century the mountainous areas of the plateau were little more than windswept heather and gorse moors that supported little in terms of agriculture other than large-scale sheep farming. Only a few ancient beech forests remained mid-way up the slopes.

In 1913, Marius Vazeilles, a member of the forestry and waterways protectorate proposed an ambitious plan to reforest the plateau, aiming to reestablish the natural balance between meadow and forest, and generate a new source of income for those working the land. However, due to a local lack of traditional forestry management skills, it was mainly the older inhabitants of Corrèze who worked the land from the 1950s onwards. With the aim of maximising yield, they planted single varieties of trees across great tracts of land, which was contrary to the recommended practice of alternating smaller expanses of woodland with cattle pasture.

In contrast with the existing forests of ancient deciduous trees, the majority of the species planted were fast-growing conifers such as Sylvester pine, which was quickly supplanted by Spruce and Douglas firs, better suited to the needs of the timber and paper mills. The Farges forest, planted in 1895, today contains the oldest Douglas firs on the plateau. They are some of the tallest trees in France.

A number of forestry companies were set up to take advantage of this natural resource. Nowadays, some are trying to gradually eliminate the practice of clearcutting used in previous years, in favour of more harmonious landscape and habitat management.

Etapes suivantes

Around the abbey

The Millevanche Plateau Forest

Meymac lies in an area mostly covered by forest, but that has not always been the case. The development of the countryside and how and why it has changed are explained in this first video.

Other courses

La forêt du plateau de Millevaches

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Au premier regard, le paysage boisé qui environne Meymac semble ancien et immuable. Pourtant, il était bien différent il y a seulement cent ans !

Meymac est situé sur le bord du Plateau de Millevaches, aussi appelé la « Montagne Limousine », près du Mont-Bessou, point culminant de la Corrèze à 984 m. Les paysages du plateau alternent entre tourbières, reliefs et vallons.

Il y a 10 000 ans, la forêt dominait le territoire, mais elle a reculé face aux activités agricoles à différentes époques depuis la période romaine.
Au 19ème siècle, les reliefs du plateau n’étaient plus que des landes de bruyère et d’ajoncs balayées par le vent, ne permettant qu’une agriculture précaire, basée sur l’élevage extensif de moutons. Seules quelques forêts anciennes de hêtres subsistaient à mi- pente.

En 1913, un garde général des eaux et forêts du nom de Marius Vazeilles élabore un vaste plan de reboisement du plateau, visant à rétablir un équilibre naturel entre prés et forêt et à procurer une source nouvelle de revenus aux paysans. Mais faute de tradition forestière locale, ce sont souvent d’anciens corréziens qui plantent en grande majorité les terres à partir des années 50. Visant un maximum de rendement, ils plantent des arbres en monoculture sur de grandes étendues, contrairement aux recommandations d’alterner petits bois et prairies d’élevage bovin.

Contrairement aux forêts anciennes de feuillus encore présentes, les essences plantées sont en grande majorité des conifères à croissance rapide, comme le pin sylvestre, vite supplanté par l’épicéa et le douglas, plus adaptés aux besoins des scieries et usines de pâte à papier. La forêt des Farges, plantée dès 1895, présente aujourd’hui les plus anciens douglas du plateau. Ils figurent parmi les plus hauts arbres de France.

Plusieurs entreprises forestières se sont implantées pour exploiter cette ressource. Aujourd’hui, certaines tentent d’abandonner peu à peu la technique de la coupe rase pratiquée dans les années passées pour une gestion plus harmonieuse du vivant et du paysage.

Etapes suivantes

Autour de l’abbaye

La forêt du plateau de Millevaches

Meymac est situé dans une zone majoritairement forestière, mais cela n’a pas toujours été le cas. L’évolution de ce paysage et les causes de ces changements vous sont expliqués dans cette première vidéo du parcours.

Les autres parcours