Beaulieu Resistance



Audio commentary voice : Sarah LAFAYE, CRT

Bookmark and Share

Read more

Beaulieu was an active and precocious Resistance town during World War II. 

Paul Berthou, leader of the local Resistance, released an underground newspaper called « Combat » with General de Gaulle’s messages broadcasted on BBC radio.

Brive-native Gontran Royer, one of Berthou’s contacts, became the regional head of the « Maquis » Secret Army, then head of the United Resistance Movement in 1943. He was arrested in Limoges and tortured, then deported to Buchenwald from which he returned, in a considerably weakened state.

Several Beaulieu inhabitants were in charge of receiving airdrops (the first one occured in Altillac in May of 1943). They also organized and integrated “maquis” groups in nearby towns, such as Chenailler-Mascheix, Reygade and Camps. They took part in liberating Brive, on August 15th, 1944.  

On June 9th, 1944, The Das Reich nazi division, sadly renowned for the Tulle hangings and for the Oradour-sur-Glane massacre, crossed the Beaulieu-Altillac bridge, killing 5 people and destroying 2 houses. 

Etapes suivantes

Discovering tour

Beaulieu Resistance

Beaulieu was an important Resistance spot during WWII.  The secret army « maquis » was organized by people such as Gontrand Royer.

This audioguide will tell you all about Resistance in Beaulieu.

Other courses

La Résistance



Voix de l’audioguide : Antoine GUYOMARC’H, Académie théâtrale de l’Union

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Beaulieu a été un lieu de résistance précoce et actif pendant la Seconde guerre mondiale.

Paul Berthou, chef des résistants locaux, diffuse le journal clandestin « Combat » et les messages du Général de Gaulle entendus à la BBC.

Le briviste Gontran Royer, en contact avec Berthou, devient chef régional des maquis de l’Armée Secrète, puis des Mouvements Unis de la Résistance en 1943. Arrêté à Limoges et torturé, il est déporté à Buchenwald d’où il reviendra très affaibli.

Plusieurs bellocois réceptionnent des parachutages (le premier à Altillac en mai 1943). Ils organisent et intègrent aussi des maquis dans des communes voisines (à Chenailler-Mascheix, à Reygade, puis à Camps)  et participent à la libération de Brive, le 15 août 1944.

Le 9 juin 1944, la division nazie Das Reich, de triste mémoire car responsable ensuite des pendaisons de Tulle et du massacre d’Oradour-sur-Glane, passe par le pont de Beaulieu-Altillac : elle détruit deux maisons et tue cinq personnes.

Etapes suivantes

Circuit découverte

La Résistance

Beaulieu a été durant la Seconde guerre mondiale un lieu de résistance. Le maquis de l’Armée secrète s’organise autour d’hommes comme Gontrand Royer.

Revivez les épisodes de la résistance bellocoise à travers cet audioguide.

Les autres parcours