The pilgrimage tradition
Bookmark and Share

Read more

Ever since the Middle Ages, a true cult developed around the relics of Christianity’s saints. People who set off on pilgrimages, usually did so to reaffirm their faith, to ask for a miracle or even to repent.  Setting off on a journey and having to walk, forced pilgrims to face tiredness, danger, hunger and cold which were considered as a type of ordeal, on the path to redemption.

The main Christian pilgrimage sites were Jerusalem, where Christ was buried, Rome, with the grave of Saint Peter the Apostle, and Santiago de Compostela, with the mausoleum dedicated to Saint James the Apostle.

Worshippers from all over France and even from other nearby countries walked the great distance to reach Santiago de Compostela. They favoured certain routes which crossed famous worshipping sites.

For example, pilgrims who followed the Vézelay route, also known as  Via Lemovicencis, could stop over in Bénévent to worship the relics of  Bartholomew the Apostle. They could come via La Souterraine and continue on to Limoges, stopping over in Saint Léonard de Noblat, an important pilgrimage site, or travel through Bourganeuf to reach Tulle and then Rocamadour.
Each pilgrim had his own itinerary and there was no single official  Santiago de Compostela route.

Santiago pilgrims, also known as « jacquets », were traditionally equipped with a large stick called a “bourdon”, a saddlebag, and a hat with a large rim. As proof of their journey, they would return with sea shells collected on the beaches of Galicia. This explains why the symbol of pilgrimage is a scallop shell (Saint James shell in French).

Nowadays, the Camino de Santiago de Compostela is used by faithful pilgrims as well as by simple ramblers.

Etapes suivantes

History and savoir-faire

The pilgrimage tradition

Pilgrims on their way to Santiago de Compostela played an important part in the prosperity and notoriety of  Bénévent. This sequence explains the tradition of pilgrimage.

Other courses

La tradition du pèlerinage
Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Depuis le Moyen Age, un véritable culte s’est développé autour des reliques des saints du christianisme. Le pèlerinage vers ces lieux de culte,  était généralement entrepris pour affirmer sa foi ou solliciter un miracle et parfois pour expier une faute. En effet, le voyage et la marche obligeaient le pèlerin à affronter la fatigue, le danger, la faim et le froid, autant d’épreuves de pénitence sur la voie de la rédemption.

Les principaux lieux de pèlerinage chrétiens étaient déjà Jérusalem, pour le tombeau du Christ, Rome, pour la sépulture de l’apôtre saint Pierre et Compostelle, dans le Nord de l’Espagne, pour le mausolée de l’apôtre saint Jacques.

Des fidèles venus de la France entière et même des pays limitrophes parcouraient à pied de très grandes distances pour se rendre à Santiago de Compostelle. Certains axes, qui traversaient des lieux de culte réputés, étaient privilégiés.
Ainsi, les pèlerins qui suivaient la voie de Vézelay, appelée Via Lemovicencis, pouvaient faire étape à Bénévent pour vénérer les reliques de l’apôtre Saint Barthélémy. Ils arrivaient par La Souterraine et pouvaient continuer en direction de Limoges en faisant étape à Saint Léonard de Noblat, haut lieu de pèlerinage, ou prendre par Bourganeuf pour rejoindre Tulle puis Rocamadour.
Cependant, chacun suivait son propre itinéraire et il n’existait pas forcément de «chemins de Saint-Jacques» en tant que tel.

Le pèlerin de Saint jacques, appelé jacquet, était traditionnellement équipé d’un grand bâton, appelé bourdon, d’une besace, et d’un chapeau à large bord. Il rapportait comme preuve et souvenir de son voyage un coquillage, ramassé sur une plage de Galice. Cette coquille saint Jacques est devenue le symbole du pèlerinage.

Aujourd’hui, les chemins de Saint Jacques sont fréquentés tout autant par des pèlerins croyants que par de simples randonneurs.[pour en savoir plus : la voie de Bénévent-Rocamadour, à Collonges-la-Rouge.]

Etapes suivantes

Histoire et savoir-faire

La tradition du pèlerinage

Les pèlerins, en route pour Saint Jacques de Compostelle ont joué un rôle important pour la prospérité et la notoriété de Bénévent. Cette séquence vous éclaire sur la tradition du pèlerinage.

Les autres parcours