Bookmark and Share

Read more

Founded in around 1085 by Viscount Archambaud III of Comborn, the Benedictine priory at Meymac was emancipated from Uzerche Abbey, to which it had previously been tied, and became an abbey in its own right in 1146. The community prospered thanks to the generosity of the Viscounts of Comborn, and later of Ventadour, and also thanks to pilgrimages made to visit the relics of Saint Léger.
Built between the beginning of the 12th and 13th centuries, the abbey church lies in the shape of a classic Latinate cross, nestled at the heart of the buildings. The upper church comprises an apse and two apsidioles and a bell tower is located above the portico entrance.
In around 1350, during the Hundred Years War, the abbey was plundered and burned to the ground. It would be three centuries before any restoration work would take place, with the arrival of the Benedictine monks from Saint Maur between 1669 and 1690. These monks were extremely devout.
Besides the church, almost all of the buildings you still see today come from the time of the restoration works. As you can see in this 17th century engraving, the monks probably planned to create a galleried cloister, but it was ultimately never built, while the hospice, added in 1681 to take in the destitute and deprived, is not depicted in this drawing.
The southern wing is where all of the living quarters were to be found, including the refectory and kitchen on the ground floor, and an infirmary, shared rooms and dormitories on the upper floors.
The east wing held the chapter house, where the monks gathered to makedecisions, as well as a dormitory, a library and a sacristy, where valuable objects of worship were kept.
The congregation was dispersed during the Revolution when the last of the monks left the abbey. The portico over the cloister was destroyed, as well as everything that made up the abbey enclosure.
Nowadays the abbey buildings belong to the local council, and are host to a contemporary arts centre, and a museum of archeology and cultural heritage.

Etapes suivantes

Around the abbey

The abbey

The origins of Meymac date back to the foundation of its abbey. All that remains today of the old religious precinct are the abbey’s church and the adjoining monastic buildings. Watch this video to see the construction and its history.

Other courses

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Fondé vers 1085 par le Vicomte Archambaud III de Comborn, le prieuré bénédictin de Meymac s’est émancipé de l’abbaye d’Uzerche, dont il dépendait, pour devenir lui-même abbaye en 1146. Cette communauté a prospéré grâce aux donations des Vicomtes de Comborn, puis de Ventadour, et au pèlerinage qui s’est organisé autour des reliques de Saint Léger.

Au centre des constructions, l’église abbatiale, au plan classique en croix latine, a été construite entre le début du 12ème siècle et le début du 13ème siècle. Son chevet est composé d’une abside et deux absidioles et son portail d’entrée est surmonté d’un clocher porche.
Vers 1350, au cours de la Guerre de Cent ans, l’abbaye est incendiée et pillée. Des restaurations conséquentes n’ont lieu que 3 siècles plus tard, entre 1669 et 1690, avec l’arrivée de moines bénédictins de la congrégation de Saint Maur, qui observent une règle très stricte.
Hormis l’église, la quasi-totalité des bâtiments encore visibles correspond à cette campagne de travaux. Comme le montre cette gravure du 17ème siècle, les moines projetaient probablement de doter leur cloître de galeries, qui ne verront jamais le jour, tandis que l’hospice, ajouté en 1681 pour accueillir les déshérités, ne figure pas sur ce dessin.
L’aile sud regroupait les espaces de vie : réfectoire et cuisine au rez-de-chaussée, infirmerie, chambres communes et dortoirs aux étages.
L’aile est accueillait la salle capitulaire, où les moines se rassemblaient pour prendre des décisions, mais aussi un dortoir, une bibliothèque et un sacrarium, où l’on conservait les objets de culte précieux.
La congrégation est dissoute à la Révolution et les derniers moines quittent l’abbaye. Le portail fermant le cloître est détruit, ainsi que l’ensemble des éléments de l’enclos abbatial.
Les bâtiments de l’abbaye, aujourd’hui propriété de la commune, accueillent un centre d’art contemporain et un musée d’archéologie et du patrimoine.

Etapes suivantes

Autour de l’abbaye

L'abbaye

L’origine de Meymac est liée à la fondation de son abbaye. De cet ancien ensemble religieux subsistent aujourd’hui l’église abbatiale et les bâtiments conventuels qui la jouxtent. Cette vidéo vous présente le bâti et son histoire.

Les autres parcours