The castle's north wing

Bookmark and Share

Read more

The castle’s north wing was built of limestone, and had three levels. In the middle, beneath a pavilion, there was a grand staircase with four straight handrails above an open space, possibly inspired by the staircase at the castle of Blois.  This pavilion was surrounded by a chapel to its east, and a residence to its west.

Unfortunately, all of these buildings were abandoned in the 18th century, and were torn down after the French Revolution. The limestone was crushed to make whitewash.

The only part of the castle’s north wing that remains is a large arched cellar, beneath the entire building.

The north wing’s wall was decorated with many limestone sculptures :  Gothic Flamboyant sculptures with an Italian influence from the first Renaissance, much like the castle of Argy in the Indre area. Those which were not destroyed were reused and placed in the south wing, on the well and in the mausoleum.

Capitals, fragments of fluted columns, keystones and other architectural elements such as pieces of a small column door, can be found.

Several pinnacles and other window ornaments may come from casement windows.

The tower motif is commonly found : a reference to the Pompadour family’s coat of arms, which is “blue, with three silver towers”.

A large part of these decorative elements, such as this sculpted capital, representing a dog, come from the west wing. They are typical of the Renaissance and linked the north wing to the south wing.

Les Cars castle, south of Limoges, is similar to Pompadour castle, in many ways: An important Limousin family boasting its power, in the early 16th century, by building a sumptuous castle with limestone decorations. In both cases, important fortifications were added on during the Religious Wars.

Etapes suivantes

Stud farm and castle tour

The castle's north wing

Let’s take a moment to evoke the parts of the castle which no longer exist: the north wing and the west gallery. Both were sophisticatedly decorated with limestone sculptures. You’ll be able to see what these parts of the castle looked like thanks to this video’s computer generated images.

Other courses

L'aile Nord du château
Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

L’aile nord du château était bâtie en calcaire sur trois niveaux. Au centre, un pavillon abritait un grand escalier d’honneur à 4 rampes droites organisées autour d’un espace vide, peut-être inspiré de celui du château de Blois. Ce pavillon était encadré par la chapelle à l’est et par un logis à l’ouest.

Malheureusement, tous ces bâtiments ont été laissés à l’état d’abandon au 18ème siècle et ont été démolis après la Révolution. Les pierres de calcaire ont été broyées pour faire de la chaux.

Il ne subsiste de l’aile nord du château qu’une grande cave voûtée, qui courait sous l’ensemble du bâtiment.

De nombreux décors sculptés en calcaire, dans le style gothique flamboyant, mêlé d’influences italiennes de la première Renaissance, ornaient les façades de cette aile nord, comme sur le château d’Argy dans l’Indre. Ceux qui n’ont pas été détruits ont été placés en remploi notamment sur l’aile sud, sur le puits et le mausolée.

Parmi eux se distinguent notamment des chapiteaux, des fragments de colonnes cannelées, des clés de voûtes et autres éléments d’architecture comme ces morceaux d’une porte à colonnettes.

Des pinacles et autres éléments d’ornementation de baies pourraient provenir de fenêtres à croisées.

Le motif de la tour se retrouve souvent, en référence au blason de la famille Pompadour « d’azur à trois tours d’argent ».

Une grande partie de ces décors, comme ce chapiteau sculpté représentant un chien provient de la galerie occidentale, élément typique de la Renaissance qui reliait l’aile nord et l’aile sud.

Par bien des aspects, le château des Cars, au sud de Limoges, rappelle celui de Pompadour. Comme ici, une famille Limousine affiche son pouvoir, au début du 16ème siècle, par une construction fastueuse ornée de décors en calcaire. Dans les deux cas, un important dispositif de fortification est ajouté pendant les guerres de religion.

Etapes suivantes

Parcours château et haras

L'aile Nord du château

Attardons-nous à présent sur les parties disparues du château, l’aile Nord et la galerie occidentale, qui étaient finement décorées de sculptures en calcaire. Des restitutions de ces bâtiments vous sont proposées en images de synthèse.

Les autres parcours