The castle's south wing

Bookmark and Share

Read more

The two almond shaped towers at the entrance of the small castle were built before the great construction programme, which took place in the 1500s. They are the oldest part of the castle’s south wing. In the beginning, they were on either side of a simple Gothic arch, in front of a portcullis and a drawbridge. In the 16th century, a wall was added on, between the two towers, to form the small castle with its carriage and pedestrian doors.

Two residences surround the castle, flanked by the Forville tower to the East, and the Prison tower to the west. Each tower had its own winding stairway. Another winding stairway can be found at the back of the small castle.

The entire south wall is crowned with a rampart walkway upon machicolations, which had both defensive and decorative purposes.   The sculpted lintels form a trilobed and curvy frieze. The walkway’s parapet is pierced with arrow and canon loops, as well as square windows.

The building was greatly transformed in the late 19th century. Many casement windows were added on to the south side. Southern walls did not usually have such systematic openings. The windows and doors on the ground floor were also added on, in the late 19th century. The roof and walkway were modified as well.

On the north side, old casement windows were preserved, and sculpted elements from the castle’s noble parts were later integrated to the façade.

The inside of the castle, its kitchens and bakery on the ground floor and dwellings on the first floor became stables, transformed by the National stud farm, in the second half of the 18th century. In the middle of the 19th century, the stables were replaced by the director’s residence.

Etapes suivantes

Stud farm and castle tour

The castle's south wing

The south wing is the only part of the castle that subsists today. It is presented in this video, with its covered pathway, its front entrance « châtelet » (small castle), its two circular towers and its indoors.

Other courses

L'aile sud du château

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Les deux tours en amande du châtelet d’entrée, antérieures au grand chantier des années 1500, sont la partie la plus ancienne de l’aile sud du château. A l’origine, elles encadraient une simple porte en arc brisé, précédée d’une herse et d’un pont-levis. C’est au début du 16ème siècle, qu’un mur est édifié entre les deux tours pour former le châtelet actuel percé d’une porte cochère et d’une porte piétonne.

Le châtelet est encadré par deux logis, flanqués par la tour de Forville, à l’est et la tour de la Prison, à l’ouest, chacune munie d’escaliers en vis. Un autre escalier en vis est accolé à l’arrière du châtelet.

L’ensemble de la façade sud est couronné par un chemin de ronde sur mâchicoulis dont la fonctionétait à la fois défensive et décorative. Leurs linteaux sculptés forment une frise de trilobes et d’accolades. Le parapet du chemin de ronde est percé d’archères-canonnières et de baies carrées.

Le bâtiment a subi d’importantes transformations à la fin du 19ème siècle. De nombreuses baies à croisée ont été ajoutées côté sud, sur cette façade qui au départ n’était pas percée de manière aussi systématique. Les fenêtres et portes du rez-de-chaussée sont également des ajouts de cette période. La toiture et le chemin de ronde ont aussi été modifiés.

Côté Nord, des baies anciennes à croisée ont été conservées et des éléments sculptés issus des parties nobles du château ont été intégrées tardivement à la façade.

Les espaces intérieurs du bâtiment, qui abritaient des cuisines et une boulangerie au rez-de-chaussée et des logements à l’étage, ont été reconvertis en écuries par les Haras Nationaux dans la seconde moitié du 18ème siècle avant d’être entièrement réaménagés au milieu du 19ème siècle pour accueillir les appartements du directeur.

Etapes suivantes

Parcours château et haras

L'aile sud du château

L’aile sud, seule partie encore existante du château, vous est présentée dans cette vidéo, avec son chemin de ronde, son châtelet d’entrée, ses deux tours circulaires et ses intérieurs.

Les autres parcours