The architecture of Collonges’s church

Bookmark and Share

Read more

This Romanesque church was founded around 1060 or 1070.

Its remarkable 12th century bell tower is over 20 metres high. Its square 2 level base has two upper openings. Their semicircular arches are supported by small columns. The next level is flanked with fake openings, with triangular crownings called « gables », and is a transition between the lower part and the last three octogonal shaped levels. This rare and elaborate type of structure is called a « Limousin bell tower ». And yet there are only four of these in Limousin : in Saint-Leonard de Noblat, Uzerche, Saint-Junien and Collonges. On this particular church, the old red sandstone spire was replaced by a cone shaped roof.

In the late 14th century, the church was fortified, as you can see thanks to the 3 corbels above the portal. They show that the church once had a brattice enabling defenders to shoot or throw objects at attackers to defend the entrance. The church was also enlarged in the late 14th century, when a second nave was added on. This nave was shorter than the first one and was surmounted with a second bell tower. Four different sized chapels were also added on in the 15th and 16th centuries. These successive additions gave the church its unusual and irregular shape.

In the 16th century, during the Wars of Religion, the church was fortified once again, with a square tower called “the lookout tower”, with loopholes and arrowslits.

In the church, all the red sandstone keystones are sculpted to represent either biblical characters or geometric shapes. The church’s most remarkable capitals are located beneath the Limousin bell tower, on the same level as the first floor openings. They were sculpted in the 12th century. Their style is Romanesque and they are mainly palmettes and interlacing figures. One of the sculpted corbels is quite different from the others. It used to be part of the original portal fragments and was actually re-used here.

Notice the seventeen 15th and 16th century culs-de-lampe, sculpted to represent humans, animals, plants, shapes and various objects, such as this torch.

Etapes suivantes

Between towers and “castels”

The architecture of Collonges’s church

This video explains the outstanding architecture of Collonges’s church, with its two bell towers, fortified tower and irregular layout; Be sure to watch it before entering the church.

Other courses

L’architecture de l’église

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Cette église romane a été fondée vers 1060-1070.

Son remarquable clocher du 12ème siècle s’élève à plus de 20 mètres de hauteur. Sa base carrée sur deux étages est ajourée de hautes baies dont l’arc en plein cintre est porté par des colonnettes. L’étage suivant, flanqué de fausses baies aux couronnements triangulaires appelés gâbles, opère la transition vers le plan octogonal des trois derniers niveaux. Cette structure rare et particulièrement élaborée porte le nom de clocher limousin. Il n’en existe pourtant que 4 en Limousin, à Saint-Léonard de Noblat, Uzerche, Saint-Junien et Collonges. Ici, une couverture conique remplace l’ancienne flèche en grès rouge.

A la fin du 14ème siècle l’église est fortifiée, comme en témoignent trois corbeaux au-dessus du portail qui rappellent la présence d’une ancienne bretèche, qui permettait surplomber d’éventuels assaillants pour défendre l’entrée. A la même époque, elle est agrandie avec l’ajout d’une deuxième nef, plus courte que la première et surmontée d’un deuxième clocher. 4 chapelles de taille inégale viennent l’enrichir aux 15ème et 16ème siècles. Ces ajouts successifs lui confèrent ce plan irrégulier atypique.

Au 16ème siècle, au cours des guerres de religion, l’église est à nouveau fortifiée avec la tour carrée, dite tour du guetteur, percée de meurtrières et d’archères.

Dans l’église, toutes les clefs de voûtes en grès rouge sont sculptées soit de figures bibliques soit de représentations géométriques. Parmi les chapiteaux sculptés, les plus remarquables, situés sous le clocher limousin et au niveau des baies de son premier étage, datent du 12ème siècle. Leurs sculptures de style roman présentent principalement des palmettes et des entrelacs. La corbeille de l’un d’eux, très différente des autres, faisait initialement partie des fragments du portail et a été placée ici en remploi.

Remarquez aussi les 17 culots des 15ème et 16ème siècles sculptés de représentations humaines, animalières, végétales, géométriques ou d’objets comme ce flambeau.

Etapes suivantes

Entre tours et castels

L’architecture de l’église

L’église, avec ses deux clochers, sa tour fortifiée et son plan irrégulier mérite bien une cette petite séquence filmée pour nous expliquer son architecture atypique. Alors regardez ce film avant d’entrer dans l’église.

Les autres parcours