The Roc Discovery Centre

(Français)

Bookmark and Share

Read more

The Roc-aux-Sorciers, or Sorcerers’ Rock, Discovery Centre was set up in 2008. The centre used two different approaches for recreating the site meaning you can learn all about the prehistoric carved frieze, which is nowadays closed to the public for conservation reasons.

The first is a full-sized replica of the entire inner wall of the natural rock shelter. Brought to life through a multimedia commentary and soundtrack experience. It highlights the thirty visible carvings and conjures an image of the daily life of a family living in a shelter like this one during the prehistoric Magdalenian period.

The visitor is then invited to experience the second replica up close. This is exhibited outside in daylight, in conditions as near as possible to those of the original site. The pinpoint accuracy of the reproduction means it is possible to make out every detail of the carvings and even touch them.

Extract from guided tour by Mathilde Lucas (to show and explain the carving samples representative of the Roc).

Guided tours and a host of educational activities are offered on site meaning visitors can spend the day immersed in the prehistoric Magdalenian period of the original sculptors.

Etapes suivantes

Fortress and village

The Roc Discovery Centre

Unconvinced about visiting the Roc-aux-Sorciers Discovery Centre? This video will show you the highlights of what is on show, which will undoubtedly spur you on to go.

Other courses

Le Centre d’interprétation du Roc

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Le Centre d’Interprétation du Roc-aux-Sorciers a été créé en 2008. Il permet de découvrir, à l’aide de deux restitutions d’approche différente, cette frise préhistorique sculptée, aujourd’hui fermée au public pour des raisons de conservation.

La première copie reproduit en volume et dans son intégralité la paroi de l’abri-sous-roche. Une projection multimédia, agrémentée de commentaires et d’habillages sonores, vient l’animer. Elle met en lumière la trentaine de sculptures visibles et évoque le quotidien d’une famille vivant au Magdalénien dans un abri de ce type.

Le visiteur est ensuite amené à découvrir des très près la seconde copie, exposée en extérieur, à la lumière du jour, dans des conditions se rapprochant de celles du site original. Cette reproduction au millimètre près permet de distinguer tous les détails des sculptures qu’il est même possible de toucher.

Extrait de visite guidée par Mathilde Lucas, Directrice du Centre d’Interprétation du Roc aux Sorciers (pour montrer et expliquer des exemples de sculptures représentatives du Roc).

Les visites guidées et les nombreuses animations pédagogiques proposées sur le site permettent de se plonger, le temps d’une journée, à l’époque de ces sculpteurs de l’époque Magdalénienne.

Etapes suivantes

Forteresse et village

Le Centre d’interprétation du Roc

Vous hésitez à visiter le Centre d’interprétation du Roc aux Sorciers ? Cette vidéo vous permettra d’en savoir plus sur ses dispositifs de présentation, qui ne pourront que vous séduire.

Les autres parcours