The Castle since the 15th Century

(Français)

Bookmark and Share

Read more

The castle underwent significant changes during the 15th century. The Bishop of Poitiers, Hugues de Combarel, transformed the Romanesque keep into a dwelling fit for a 15th century bishop. He had wide windows knocked into the walls on various sides of the building and had the upper floors redone. A tower complete with spiral staircase provided access to each of the four levels. A doorway and protective bartizan were added to provide access to the building from the interior courtyard.
In the main courtyard, on the edge of the cliff, the bishop also had a second dwelling built comprising two rooms per floor and a tower complete with spiral staircase. A small balcony-like passageway dominated the cliff.
To adapt to the new weapons of siege and the increasingly common use of artillery, Hugues de Combarel had the walls and towers fortified. The thickness of the walls was increased, and new firing slits which would accommodate cannons were installed.
He hung the family coats of arms at various points around the castle.
The fortress suffered significant damage during the religious wars of the 16th century and the war of the Fronde in the 17th century. The bishops abandoned Angles and Chauvigny in favour of their castle at Dissay. The fortress at Angles was poorly maintained and was eventually abandoned in 1708 after which time it gradually fell into ruin. It was declared a national asset during the Revolution and served as a public quarry.
The castle was declared a Historic Monument in 1926 and works were carried out on several occasion to preserve the ruins. Since 1986, the castle has belonged to Angles-sur-Anglin Local Authority.
It is now possible to visit the fortress and admire the magnificent views from the cliff tops.

Etapes suivantes

Fortress and village

The Castle since the 15th Century

Large scale developments took place in the 15th century, particularly on the castle keep. This animation will show you how the castle was laid out.

Other courses

Le château depuis le 15ème siècle

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Poitiers, Hugues de Combarel, transforme le donjon roman en un logis répondant au confort attendu par un évêque du 15e siècle. Il fait percer de larges fenêtres sur les différentes faces du bâtiment et reprendre les parties hautes. Une tour d’escalier circulaire dessert les quatre niveaux. Pour accéder au logis depuis la cour secondaire, une porte est ouverte, défendue par une bretèche.
L’évêque fait aussi construire dans la cour principale, au bord de la falaise, un second logis, qui comprend deux pièces par niveau et une tour d’escalier à vis. Un petit passage, sorte de balcon, domine la falaise.
Pour s’adapter aux nouvelles armes de siège, avec l’usage généralisé de l’artillerie, Hugues de Combarel renforce également les tours et les courtines, par un épaississement des murs et le percement de nouvelles fentes de tir adaptées aux canons.
Il fait ajouter les armoiries de sa famille sur différentes parties du château.
La forteresse subit des dégâts importants pendant les guerres de religion au 16e siècle, et lors de la Fronde au 17e. Les évêques délaissent Angles et Chauvigny au profit de leur château de Dissay. Peu entretenue, la forteresse d’Angles est définitivement abandonnée à partir de 1708 et tombe peu à peu en ruines. Déclarée bien national à la Révolution, elle sert de carrière publique.
Le château est classé Monument Historique en 1926 et plusieurs campagnes de travaux sont alors lancées pour consolider les ruines. Depuis 1986, il appartient à la commune d’Angles-sur-l’Anglin.
Il est désormais possible de visiter la forteresse et d’admirer le magnifique panorama du haut de la falaise.

Etapes suivantes

Forteresse et village

Le château depuis le 15ème siècle

D’importants aménagements ont eu lieu au 15ème siècle, notamment sur le donjon du château. Les restitutions en images de synthèse vous permettront de visualiser l’organisation des espaces.

Les autres parcours