Vassivière estate


Bookmark and Share

Read more

In 1862, Louis Léonard Vassivière, who was a building contractor in the city of Lyon, inherited two farming properties from family members in Vassivière. He purchased several neighbouring properties, and became the village’s only owner, constantly expanding his estate. He restructured the hamlet by demolishing most of the buildings, and he extended his family’s 17th century house, which he called « the castle ».

 

Having become the owner of a large portion of land, he reorganized his estate using modern methods that were popular at the time, and turned moorland and pastures into fields of rye, corn, beetroot and other types of fodder. On the heights of his estate, he planted conifer trees to be used for the wood industry.

 

He built a dam along the river Maulde to irrigate his land, to supply power to his flour mill and he worked out a hydroelectric plant project to supply electricity to his castle and outbuildings.

As a businessman, he applied for various patents, including one for a lifting machine, capable of moving architectural elements and monumental works of art around.

Etapes suivantes

Art and landscape tour

Vassivière estate

Before it became an island, Vassivière was a village. It was transformed in the 19th century and became an incredibly modern farming estate, by a unique person, Louis Léonard Vassivière. You’ll hear his story here.

Other courses

Le domaine de Vassivière


Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

En 1862, Louis Léonard Vassivière, entrepreneur du bâtiment à Lyon, hérite des deux propriétés agricoles de sa famille à Vassivière. Il rachète alors les terres voisines pour devenir l’unique propriétaire du village, et ne cesse d’étendre son domaine. Il restructure le hameau en démolissant la plupart des bâtiments et fait agrandir la maison familiale du 17ème siècle qu’il baptise alors « le château ».

En grand propriétaire terrien, il réorganise son domaine selon les méthodes modernes de l’époque, transformant landes et pacages en parcelles de seigle, de maïs, de betterave, et autres plantes fourragères… Sur les hauteurs, il plante des résineux pour l’exploitation forestière.

Il construit un barrage sur la Maulde pour irriguer ses terres et faire tourner un moulin à farine et élabore un projet d’usine hydroélectrique pour éclairer le château et ses dépendances.

En tant qu’entrepreneur, il dépose des brevets, notamment pour un engin de levage capable de déplacer des éléments d’architecture et des œuvres d’art monumentales.

Etapes suivantes

Parcours Art et Paysage

Le domaine de Vassivière

Avant d’être une île, Vassivière était un village, transformé à la fin du 19ème siècle en un domaine agricole d’une modernité remarquable par un personnage tout à fait unique, Louis Léonard Vassivière. Nous vous relatons ici cette histoire étonnante.

Les autres parcours