Bookmark and Share

Read more

The Puy Marmont site is located where an old vegetable garden and the castle’s old Puy Marmont smallholding used to be. In fact the site is named after the smallholding. In the 1830s, Pompadour’s director Antonin de Lespinats, rationally reorganized and modernized the entire  Pompadour estate. Puy Marmont became a branch of the stud farm. To do so, Lespinat purchased the neighbouring property and had the path to Ségur displaced.  In 1835, two stables were built, including the « infirmary », which can still be seen today. The vegetable garden, which was 1 and a half hectares large, became a riding arena for horse training.

The buildings you can see today were built in 1876, at a time when national stud farms were expanding, at the instigation of Pompadour’s director, Henri Donnet de Fontrobert, who wanted to increase the number of stallions. Two very large stables were built on either side of a central courtyard, which was closed at the back by an honorary pavillion. This was accessible thanks to an alley with trees with a double alignment, giving almost a military aspect to the site, with its sober, classical and industrial style architecture.

The site was completed in 1884, with a new blacksmithery including a forge, as well as a riding arena and a “drafthorse stable”, behind the honorary pavillion.

Many adjustments have taken place regularly since the 1970s :  a riding arena with  laminated timber framework, as well as several sand arenas. Thanks to these modern facilities, and to its capacity, Puy Marmont has now become an equestrian stadium. Many important events take place here: international dressage competitions, obstacle races, Anglo Arabian breeding competitions and the young horse eventing championship, also known as the Great Week of Pompadour, in September.

Etapes suivantes

Stud farm and castle tour

Le Puy Marmont

The large Puy Marmont area was the castle’s vegetable garden. In the 19th century, it was transformed by the National Stud Farm to become: stables, a riding school, a forge and an honorary pavilion. Here we present the site and its evolution.

Other courses

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Le site du Puy Marmont est situé à l’emplacement de l’ancien potager et d’une ancienne métairie du château qui lui a donné son nom. Dans les années 1830, le directeur Antonin de Lespinats réorganise de manière rationnelle et moderne l’ensemble du domaine de Pompadour et transforme le Puy Marmont en « une succursale » du haras. Pour cela, Lespinat achète la propriété voisine et obtient le déplacement du chemin de Ségur. En 1835, deux écuries sont construites, dont celle dite « de l’infirmerie », qui est toujours visible. Le potager, d’une surface d’un hectare et demi, est transformé en carrière découverte ou manège, pour l’exercice et le travail des chevaux.

Mais c’est en 1876, période d’expansion des haras nationaux, qu’est édifie l’ensemble des bâtiments encore en place aujourd’hui sous l’impulsion du directeur Henri Donnet de Fontrobert, désireux d’augmenter le nombre d’étalons. Deux très grandes écuries de part et d’autre d’une cour centrale fermée au fond par un pavillon d’honneur, avec un accès par une allée plantée d’un double alignement, confèrent un aspect quasi militaire à ce site à l’architecture sobre, d’inspiration à la fois classique et industrielle.

L’ensemble est complété, en 1884, par  une nouvelle maréchalerie avec forge, un manège de monte et l’écurie dite des chevaux de trait, derrière le pavillon d’honneur.

Depuis les années 1970, de nombreux aménagements sont régulièrement réalisés : un manège avec charpente en lamellé-collé et différentes carrières en sable. Grace à ces installations modernes et à sa capacité d’accueil,  le site du Puy Marmont a aujourd’hui une vocation de stade équestre. Il est le lieu d’importantes et nombreuses manifestations: concours international de dressage, concours de saut d’obstacles, concours  d’élevage pour les anglo-arabes et la finale des championnats jeunes chevaux en concours complets, dite grande semaine de Pompadour en septembre.

Etapes suivantes

Parcours château et haras

Le Puy Marmont

Ancien potager du château, le grand espace du Puy Marmont a été transformé au fil du 19ème siècle par le Haras National pour accueillir plusieurs écuries, un manège, une forge et un pavillon d’honneur. Cette séquence vous présente le site et son évolution.

Les autres parcours