The castle's defense system

Bookmark and Share

Read more

The castle of Pompadour was entirely transformed into a sophisticated residence, around the year 1500. Between 1560 and 1580, it was equipped with a significant defense system, designed to stay out of reach of artillery firing, under the circumstances of the religious wars going on at the time.

The outer gatehouse was built in a vast bailey, circled by a large moat and guarded by 10 circular towers, 9 of which are still standing.  It was defended by loopholes, for large artillery and smaller ones called« couleuvrinières », for smaller firearms.

Notice its lovely door with its rusticated pillars, worthy of the finest Renaissance residences.

The many loopholes in the wall were probably accessible via a network of underground tunnels.

The access was guarded by a triple defense system : a first airlock called a barbican, which no longer exists today ; then a double drawbridge, which led to a pedestrian door and carriage door; and last of all, to the back door of the gatehouse, with its double casement.

It opened on to a vast embankment, built around the central castle, the artillery boulevard, enabling canons to be moved around on a flat surface. This sizeable embankment was built upon older defense systems. The surrounding wall supports this large platform where trees have now been planted.

The towers’ bottom floors were dedicated to defending the castle with hackbuts, and the top floor was a residence for officers or domestics.

The Religious War defense systems considerably reinforced the 1500s castle, which already had its own moat, that has now been filled up. It also already had its own gatehouse, equipped with a drawbridge and loopholes.

Etapes suivantes

Stud farm and castle tour

The castle's defense system

In the middle of the 16th century, the castle of Pompadour was endowed with an important defense system, to protect it from attacks in the religious war context. Here, the major points of this fortified ensemble are explained. 

Other courses

Le système défensif du château

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Entièrement transformé vers 1500 en une résidence raffinée, le château de Pompadour est équipé, entre 1560 et 1580, d’un important dispositif de défense destiné à se tenir hors de portée des tirs d’artillerie dans le contexte des guerres de Religion.

Le châtelet extérieur s’intègre dans un vaste mur d’enceinte, ceinturé par un large fossé et gardé par 10 tours circulaires, dont 9 existent encore. Il était défendu par des canonnières, pour l’artillerie de gros calibre et des couleuvrinières, pour les armes à feu plus petites.

Remarquez sa très belle porte avec ses colonnes à bossage digne des plus grandes demeures de la Renaissance.

Les nombreuses canonnières qui percent le mur d’enceinte étaient probablement accessibles par des galeries souterraines.

L’accès était gardé par un triple système défensif : un premier sas appelé barbacane, aujourd’hui disparu ; puis le double pont levis, desservant la porte piétonne et la porte cochère du châtelet; enfin, la porte arrière du châtelet, à double vantail.

Elle ouvrait sur un vaste terrassement aménagé autour du château central, le boulevard d’artillerie, qui permettait de manœuvrer des canons sur un terrain plat. Ses importants remblais ont recouvert certaines constructions défensives plus anciennes. Le mur d’enceinte soutien ce vaste terre-plein aujourd’hui planté d’arbres.

Le rez-de-chaussée et les étages inférieurs des tours étaient dédiés à la défense par l’arquebuse,  tandis que le dernier étage servait au logement d’officiers ou de domestiques.

Ces aménagements défensifs des guerres de Religion renforcent considérablement le château des années 1500, qui était déjà doté de son propre fossé aujourd’hui comblé, de son châtelet à pont levis et de ses archères canonnières.

Etapes suivantes

Parcours château et haras

Le système défensif du château

Au milieu du 16ème siècle, le château de Pompadour a été doté d’un important dispositif défensif pour se protéger des attaques dans le contexte des guerres de religion. Nous vous présentons ici les points majeurs de cet ensemble fortifié.

Les autres parcours