The Parish Church of Saint Martin

(Français)

Bookmark and Share

Read more

Perched atop a rocky promontory, Angles-sur-Anglin’s parish church dominates both the town and the river. Built towards the end of the 11th century, the church is dedicated to Saint Martin. Bishop of Tours in the 4th century, he is particularly popular in the region around Touraine.
The parish church also served as a priory or small monastery. It was affiliated to Sainte-Croix Abbey in Angles and administered by a priest-curate nominated by the Bishop of Poitiers.
At the end of the 16th century, the religious wars did not spare the parish church and it was reported to be in a dilapidated state after the French Revolution. Several restoration works were therefore carried out during the 19th century. The southern elevation, which was at risk of collapsing entirely, was completely rebuilt in 1891. Despite a number of successive series of restoration works, the church retains its original belfry, dating from the 11th century. Its square design is characteristic of belfries of the Romanesque era in Poitou-Charentes, built on two levels with semi-circular arcades. It is embellished with capitals and mollions with plant motifs or in geometric shapes, and the more observant among you might also be able to make out a few faces. Due to its age and decoration the belfry was granted Historical Monument status in 1926.
Inside the church, you can still see its panelled barrel vault and timber frame. In the chancel, the 17th century alter piece is decorated in the gilded baroque style. It is adorned with a scene representing the Adoration of the Magi. The stained glass windows were produced in the workshops of Tours native Julien Fournier, between 1892 and 1896. Samuel Périvier, a native of Angles-sur’l’Anglin and also first president of the Paris Court of Appeal was one of the patrons. You can see his likeness in one of the stained glass windows, in the guise of Saint John the Apostle.

Etapes suivantes

Fortress and village

The Parish Church of Saint Martin

This video will show you the church and its Roman belfry, granted Historical Monument status, in greater detail.

Other courses

L’église paroissiale Saint-Martin

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Juchée sur son promontoire rocheux, l’église paroissiale d’Angles-sur-l’Anglin domine la ville et la rivière. Construite vers la fin du 11e siècle, elle est dédiée à saint Martin. Evêque de Tours au 4ème siècle, il est particulièrement populaire dans cette région proche de la Touraine.
Cette église paroissiale avait aussi une fonction de prieuré, un petit monastère. Elle était rattachée à l’abbaye Sainte-Croix d’Angles et administrée par un curé-prieur nommé par l’évêque de Poitiers.
À la fin du 16e siècle, les guerres de Religion n’ont pas épargné l’église paroissiale, encore signalée en état de délabrement après la Révolution Française. Plusieurs opérations de restaurations sont donc entreprises au 19e siècle. L’élévation sud, qui menace ruine, est entièrement remontée en 1891. Malgré les nombreuses restaurations successives, l’église a conservé son clocher d’origine, datant du 11ème siècle. Sa forme carrée est caractéristique des clochers d’époque romane en Poitou-Charentes, sur deux niveaux avec des arcades en plein cintre. Il est décoré par des chapiteaux et des modillons aux motifs végétaux et géométriques et les plus observateurs pourront également y trouver quelques visages. Le décor et l’ancienneté du clocher lui valent une inscription au titre des Monuments historiques en 1926.
À l’intérieur, l’église a conservé sa voûte en berceau lambrissée et sa charpente en bois. Dans le chœur, le retable du 17e siècle présente un décor de style baroque rehaussé de dorures. Il est orné d’un tableau représentant l’Adoration des Rois mages. Les verrières ont été réalisées par l’atelier tourangeau de Julien Fournier entre 1892 et 1896. L’un des commanditaires, Samuel Périvier, était natif d’Angles-sur-l’Anglin et fut premier président de la cour d’appel de Paris. Sur l’un des vitraux, il s’est fait représenter sous les traits de l’apôtre saint Jean.

Etapes suivantes

Forteresse et village

L’église paroissiale Saint-Martin

A travers cette séquence vidéo, découvrez plus en détail cette église et son clocher roman inscrit au titre des Monuments Historiques.

Les autres parcours