The castle entrance
Bookmark and Share

Read more

The castle of Les Cars changed appearances several times before resembling the late 16th century fortress that can be seen on today’s reproduction. Archaeological excavations enabled searchers to identify certain parts of the old building, particularly a piece of the primitive castle’s doorway.   Thus, we know that in the 13th and 14th centuries, the castle’s entryway was closed by a simple wooden door without a portcullis. A footbridge was used to cross the small ditch.

In the late 14th century, the One Hundred Years War context probably made it necessary to reinforce the castle’s defense system. A loophole was built. Its walls were 3 metres high and it enabled the castle’s occupant to stand safely before the door and guard the entrance without being wounded. There was probably a drawbridge as well.

In the second half of the 16th century, François des Cars and the King of France took part in a war against the Protestants. François des Cars’s grandfather, Geoffroy de Pérusse, had turned the castle into a simple residence. In order to protect it, François des Cars had some extra work done on it. The ditch was enlarged and equipped with a special defense bridge which supported the drawbridge.

The loophole itself became a small defensive castle with two towers: one on either of its sides. You can still see the tower foundations today : one is located on the outside and the other can be found under the town hall building. The towers were specially designed to withstand attacks.  The front part of their cylindric bases were reinforced by a prominent angle called a « spur ».

A 17th century drawing gives us a good idea of what this part of the castle, which no longer exists, actually looked like.

Etapes suivantes

Castle and stables tour

The castle entrance

This video explains the evolution of the defense system located at the castle entrance : see how a simple wooden doorway became a true fortified castle entrance from the 14th to the 16th century.

Other courses

L’entrée du château
Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Le château des Cars a connu bien des évolutions avant de ressembler à la forteresse de la fin du 16ème siècle, dont vous voyez la restitution. Les fouilles archéologiques du site ont permis d’identifier certaines parties de ces constructions anciennes, notamment un montant de la porte du château primitif. Ainsi, nous savons qu’aux 13ème et 14ème siècles, l’entrée du château était fermée par une simple porte en bois, sans herse. Le petit fossé était juste enjambé par une passerelle.

A la fin du 14ème siècle, le contexte d’insécurité de la guerre de 100 ans a probablement rendu nécessaire le renforcement du dispositif de défense. Une barbacane a donc été édifiée. Cette construction, dont les murs atteignaient 3 mètres de haut, permettait aux défenseurs du château de se poster devant la porte pour en garder l’entrée, tout en se mettant à l’abri des projectiles ennemis. Elle était vraisemblablement précédée d’un pont levis.

Dans la deuxième moitié du 16ème siècle, François des Cars mène aux côtés du roi de France la guerre contre les Protestants. Pour protéger le château transformé en résidence de plaisance par son grand-père, Geoffroy de Pérusse, François des Cars réalise de nouveaux aménagements. Le fossé est élargi et équipé d’un pont dormant sur lequel vient reposer le pont levis.

La barbacane est transformée en véritable châtelet de défense, flanqué de deux tourelles, dont les fondations sont encore bien visibles : l’une à l’extérieur et l’autre sous les bâtiments de la mairie. La forme de ces tours était conçue pour résister aux attaques. En effet, leur base cylindrique est renforcée sur l’avant par un angle saillant appelé éperon.

Un dessin du 17ème siècle a permis de se faire une idée de l’apparence de cette partie du château, aujourd’hui largement arasée.

Etapes suivantes

Circuit château et écuries

L’entrée du château

Appréhendez, grâce à cette vidéo, l’évolution des dispositifs de défense à l’entrée du château, passant d’une simple porte en bois à un véritable châtelet, entre le 14ème et le 16ème siècle.

Les autres parcours