The abbey buildings
Bookmark and Share

Read more

The abbey was organized according to the different functions of the Canons’ daily community life: spiritual activities such as praying and reading, as well as material activities such as farming, craft-making and general domestic activities.

The abbey church was surrounded by several buildings, some of which were still visible on an 1822 map. Inside these buildings, there was a dormitory, a refectory, a kitchen, and a capitulary room where meetings were held. There used to be an adjoining cloister, built back to back with the church, on the square where trees are planted today. The cloister’s galleries fell apart in the late 17th century.  

The only subsisting parts of the abbey are the two main buildings surrounding you. These two buildings were connected by a massive doorway. You can still see traces of this doorway, which is used to close the abbey’s eastern courtyard, today.  There was a fountain in the middle of the courtyard, but it was moved to the nearby market square.

The south-west building dates back to the late 15th or early 16th century. It was probably the abbot’s home. Its beautiful moulded Renaissance door has a flamboyant Gothic style. Above the door is a coat of arms, proof of the abbey’s prosperity at the time.
There used to be a round tower at the end of the north-east building, called « prison tower ».  

In 1822, the buildings were acquired by the town of Bénévent, who renovated them and turned them into a town hall, school and police station. The buildings were transformed many times and changed allocations. Nowadays, they are not only home to the town’s school but also to its library and to several associations.

Etapes suivantes

History and savoir-faire

The abbey buildings

This video will help you to imagine what Bénévent abbey used to look like, back when the buildings around the abbey church, which no longer exist, were still standing.

Other courses

Les bâtiments de l’abbaye
Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

L’organisation de l’abbaye s’articulait autour des différentes fonctions de la vie communautaire des chanoines, répartie entre activités spirituelles, comme la prière et la lecture et activités matérielles domestiques, agricoles et artisanales.

L’église abbatiale était entourée d’un ensemble de bâtiments dont une partie était encore visible sur un plan de 1822. Ils abritaient entre autres un dortoir, un réfectoire, une cuisine, ainsi que la salle capitulaire, où se tenaient les réunions. A l’origine, ils communiquaient avec un cloître, adossé à l’église, sur la place aujourd’hui plantée d’arbres. Les galeries de ce cloître sont tombées en ruine dès la fin du 17ème siècle.

Des bâtiments de l’abbaye ne subsistent aujourd’hui que les deux corps de logis qui vous entourent. Ces deux bâtiments, qui étaient reliés par une lourde porte dont on voit encore la trace, fermaient la cour Est de l’abbaye. Au milieu de cette cour se trouvait une fontaine, qui a été déplacée non loin de là, place du marché.

Le bâtiment sud-est, qui date de la fin du 15ème ou du début du 16ème siècle abritait probablement le logement de l’abbé. Sa belle porte Renaissance moulurée, de style gothique flamboyant, surmontée d’un écusson, témoigne du faste de l’abbaye à cette époque.
A l’extrémité du bâtiment nord-est se trouvait une tour ronde, appelée « tour de la prison » aujourd’hui disparue.

En 1822, la commune devenue propriétaire entame la réfection de ces bâtiments qui sont délabrés, pour y installer progressivement la mairie, une école et la gendarmerie. Ils ont connu depuis de nombreuses transformations et ont changé d’affectation. Aujourd’hui, ils accueillent toujours l’école, mais aussi la bibliothèque, ainsi que des associations.

Etapes suivantes

Histoire et savoir-faire

Les bâtiments de l’abbaye

Imaginez avec l’aide de cette vidéo à quoi pouvait ressembler l’abbaye de Bénévent dont les bâtiments, autour de l’église abbatiale, ont aujourd’hui pour la plupart disparus.

Les autres parcours