Collonges’s « castels »

Bookmark and Share

Read more

In the 9th century, the priory town of Collonges depended on the Viscountcy of Turenne, enabling its inhabitants to benefit from certain privileges and tax exemptions. In the 16th century, Aristocratic families had mansions built, which the inhabitants of Collonges now call « castels “ (which means “small castles”).

The Vassignacs were lords who owned a mansion by the church in Collonges. They had a massive « castel » built around 1580, which boasts two of the town’s largest towers. Around the same time, the Vassignacs founded their very own chapel in the church, where their coat of arms can be seen. In the early 17th century, Gedeon the 1st of Vassignac, who converted to Protestantism under the influence of the Viscount of Turenne, organized a reformed cult in the chapel. He had followers enter through a private door, located in the courtyard of his house. It was Barthelemy de Vassignac, a family member, who had agreed to pay for the church’s enlargement and fortifications back in the 14th century.

There are 8 « castels » in Collonges. Some are located near the priory wall, such as the Vassignac, Beauvirie, Ramade de la Serre and Maussac castels. Others are located further away, such as Benges and Martret. Lastly, the manors of Beauregard and Le Breuil are located in the countryside.
Collonges’s castels are larger than ordinary houses. Not only do they have a stairway tower, they also often have small towers and watchtowers set upon moulded culs de lampe. Their architecture is also more elaborate.

Several castels have preserved defense elements such as Castel Vassignac with its 17 loopholes, and Benges castel, with its cannon ports and brattice vestiges.
Castels also had gardens and courtyards. Remaining farming buildings that were not torn down, such as this barn, were sometimes converted into housing.

Etapes suivantes

Between towers and “castels”

Collonges’s « castels »

There are many manors here, which the people of Collonges call « castels ». Discover these lavish 16th century residences thanks to this video. It starts with castel Vassignac, where you are standing!

Other courses

Les castels de Collonges

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Dès le 9e siècle, le bourg prieural de Collonges dépend de la vicomté de Turenne, ce qui permet aux habitants de jouir de certains privilèges et d’exemptions d’impôts. Au 16e siècle, les familles aristocratiques font construire de nombreux manoirs, que les collongeois appellent aujourd’hui des castels.

Les Vassignac, des seigneurs qui possédaient à Collonges une maison noble à côté de l’église, font bâtir vers 1580 cet imposant castel, qui arbore les deux plus grosses tours du village. A la même époque, les Vassignac fondent dans l’église leur propre chapelle, où figure leur blason. Au début du 17ème siècle, Gédéon 1er de Vassignac, converti au protestantisme sous l’influence du Vicomte de Turenne, y organise le culte réformé, faisant entrer les fidèles par une porte privée qui donne dans la cour de sa maison. C’est un membre de cette même famille, Barthélémy de Vassignac, qui avait permis au 14ème siècle de financer la fortification et l’agrandissement de l’église.

Collonges compte 8 castels. Certains sont proches de l’enceinte prieurale, comme ceux de Vassignac, Beauvirie, Ramade de la Serre et Maussac. D’autres se situent un peu plus à l’écart, dans les faubourgs, comme les castels de Benges et du Martret. Enfin, les manoirs de Beauregard et du Breuil sont localisés en zone rurale.
Plus imposants que les maisons, les castels de Collonges disposent non seulement de tours d’escalier mais aussi très souvent de tourelles et d’échauguettes qui reposent sur des culs-de-lampe moulurés. Ils se distinguent aussi des maisons par de plus riches décors architecturaux.

Certains ont conservé des éléments défensifs, comme les 17 meurtrières du castel Vassignac, ou les archères canonnières et vestiges de bretèche du castel de Benges.
Les castels disposent de jardins et de cours. Les dépendances agricoles qui n’ont pas été détruites, comme cette grange, ont parfois été reconverties en logements.

Etapes suivantes

Entre tours et castels

Les castels de Collonges

Ici, les manoirs sont nombreux et les collongeois les appellent des « castels ». Cette vidéo vous permet de découvrir ces riches demeures, qui datent pour la plupart du 16ème siècle, en commençant par le castel Vassignac, devant lequel vous vous trouvez.

Les autres parcours