Bookmark and Share

Read more

The harmonious Romanesque architecture of the church in Le Dorat is enhanced by its 100 sculpted capitals. There is a series of small limestone capitals grouped up in the choir and transept. They are quite similar to a very dynamic sculpting style that developed in southern Limousin in in the 12th century. Similar works can be found between the rivers Vézère and the Auvézère, mainly in Corrèze but also in Dordogne and Haute-Vienne.

Transporting limestone was rather costly and thus its presence here was quite prestigious. Its pale shade amidst a granite building allowed for lovely polychrome effects. You might also notice that there are several unsculpted capitals made of serpentine, a green and polished type of stone which resembles marble. They highlight the western portal and the transept’s great windows.

However, the majority of Le Dorat’s capitals are made of granite : these massive sculptures with contrasting reliefs show just how skilled their sculptors were, when you consider how constraining it is to sculpt granite.

There are many leaf patterns which come in various forms. Palmettes and rinceaux are subtly intertwined, and you can see lions and men here and there. Lions patterns were commonly used in the 12th century. They were used to symbolize Christ, yet sometimes they were simply decorative.

This sculpture of a man surrounded by two lions can be seen in two locations in the transept’s northern chapel. Perhaps it refers to the story Daniel and the Lions, in the Bible. There is an almost identical capital in Corrèze, in the church in the town of Saint Robert.
On this other capital, one of the lion’s paws is lovingly placed upon the shoulder of a clergyman.

You can also see hellish scenes such as two monsters being swallowed by a third monster, its jaws wide open, an acrobat whose feet are being devoured, and a man standing between two demons.

Etapes suivantes

From the church to the Bergere Door

Sculpted capitals

The collegiate church is decorated with remarkable Romanesque sculpted capitals, which you can see up close in this video.

Other courses

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

L’harmonieuse architecture romane de la collégiale du Dorat est rehaussée par la présence d’une centaine de chapiteaux sculptés. Dans le cœur et le transept se concentre une série de petits chapiteaux de calcaire dont le style se rattache à un foyer de sculpture très dynamique dans le sud du Limousin au 12ème siècle. En effet, des productions similaires se retrouvent entre la Vézère et l’Auvézère, principalement en Corrèze mais également jusqu’en Dordogne et en Haute-Vienne.

Outre le prestige donné par ce matériau au coût de transport élevé, l’emploi du calcaire de teinte claire au milieu d’une construction en granit permet de créer des effets de polychromie. On peut également remarquer quelques chapiteaux non sculptés en serpentine, dont la couleur vert et l’aspect poli donnent des effets marbrés qui soulignent le portail ouest et les grandes baies du transept.

Mais la majorité des chapiteaux du Dorat est en granit, offrant des sculptures massives aux reliefs contrastés qui témoignent d’une bonne maîtrise technique surpassant les contraintes du matériau.

Les motifs de feuillages, très présents, se déclinent sous plusieurs formes. Palmettes et rinceaux se croisent en entrelacs savants où viennent parfois se glisser des hommes ou des lions. Le motif du lion, courant au 12ème siècle, pouvait symboliser le Christ ou être un simple élément décoratif.

Cette sculpture d’homme entouré de deux lions, présente en deux exemplaires dans la chapelle nord du transept, pourrait faire référence à l’épisode biblique de Daniel dans la fosse aux lions. Un chapiteau quasiment identique existe en Corrèze, dans l’église de Saint Robert.
Sur cet autre chapiteau, l’un des deux lions pose sa patte avec bienveillance sur l’épaule d’un ecclésiastique.

On assiste également à des scènes infernales comme ces deux monstres avalés par la gueule béante d’un troisième, ou cet acrobate qui se fait dévorer les pieds, ou encore cet homme encadré par deux démons.

Etapes suivantes

De la collégiale à la Porte Bergère

Les chapiteaux sculptés

La collégiale est décorée de remarquables chapiteaux romans sculptés que cette vidéo va vous permettre de découvrir de plus près.

Les autres parcours