Bookmark and Share

Read more

Jacques Pérot : « Furthermost, I think it’s important to say that « Ostensions » are a wonderful, typically Limousin tradition. They take place every seven years and date back to the Middle Ages, since the first Ostensions happened in the year 994. There was a very serious epidemic going on in Limoges at the time and someone thought to bring the relics of Saint Martial out. When they started worshipping Saint Martial, the epidemic ceased and it was truly an amazing event.
Ever since this event, the habit of displaying church relics developed and by the 18th and 19th centuries, a great number of towns celebrated Ostensions.»

Père Laurent Gouneau : « According to tradition, the relics of Saint Israel and Saint Theobald were worshipped in 1659. These saints were both important canonical figures: Saint Israël, was associated with education, whilst Saint Théobald, who was a deacon, was associated to the poor and the ill, whom he truly took care of. »

Jacques Pérot : « Each Ostension town has slightly different traditions. In Le Dorat, there is a strong link between the town and locations around it. Each parish displays its relics in an army-like manner. There is quite a spectacular military aspect in Le Dorat. Next, the relics are worshipped and a procession takes place in each town, whose houses are always lavishly decorated during the Ostensions. The event is religious as well as traditional and cultural. Many people are quite attached to the Ostensions even if they aren’t churchgoers, and many are not Catholic. It’s just an important part of the Limousin identity. »

Père Laurent Gouneau : « There’s a fine line between religion and culture ; and each person has their own journey. However, the Ostensions are mainly a religious and spiritual expression. Depending on each and every participant’s own personal journey, Ostensions can be about Marche and Limousin identity, as well as an expression of faith and spirituality. To me, there is a true balance and respect between the two. »

Jacques Pérot : « To me, the Ostensions could definitely be considered as an intangible heritage, as defined by UNESCO in 2003. That is why we applied to be registered on UNESCO’s intangible cultural heritage of humanity list. The Ostensions fit in perfectly with the list’s criteria, namely:
– a tradition that is extremely old, which is the case since the Ostensions are a medieval tradition.
– Secondly, a tradition that continues today, which is also the case, since towns continue to organize the event.
These celebrations are not artificial. Ostensions don’t take place if the inhabitants don’t want them to. And it’s not up to the clergy to decide. The population decides. There are also fraternities and organization committees, but it’s really up to each town to decide. Several places in Limousin gave up the tradition many years ago. But the Ostensions are still going strong and attract enormous crowds of tourists and of believers. They attract all kinds of people. »
Père Laurent Gouneau : « This year, we were blessed by the locks of Heaven» (referring to the huge amount of rain that fell in Le Dorat during the 2016 Ostensions.)

Etapes suivantes

From the church to the Bergere Door

Ostensions

Jacques Pérot, who applied for the « Ostensions Limousines » UNESCO registration, explains the medieval roots of this tradition. Laurent Gouneau, the town’s priest, discusses the specificity of Le Dorat’s Ostensions.

Other courses

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Jacques Pérot : « Alors, chaque lieu ostensionnaire a des traditions un peu différentes, c’est ça qui est l’intérêt des ostensions. En fait, au Dorat, il y a d’abord ce lien très étroit avec des lieux environnants. Chaque paroisse apporte ses reliques avec une garde armée. Il y a un aspect très militaire au Dorat qui est très spectaculaire. Et ensuite la vénération avec des reliques, la procession dans la ville et comme toujours dans les lieux ostensionnaires des décorations extraordinaires sur les maisons. C’est à la fois quelque chose de religieux les ostensions mais c’est aussi quelque chose de traditionnel, de culturel. Beaucoup de gens sont très attachés aux ostensions alors qu’ils ne sont pas du tout pratiquants et même pas du tout éventuellement catholiques. C’est vraiment quelque chose qui fait partie de l’identité du Limousin. »
Père Laurent Gouneau : « Alors ou s’arrête le culturel, où commence le cultuel ; ou s’arrête le cultuel, où commence le culturel, chacun a son propre itinéraire. Cependant, il est vrai que les ostensions, c’est avant tout une expression religieuse, spirituelle, cultuelle d’une vie de foi. Après chacun, chacune, en fonction de sa propre démarche, certains veulent reconnaitre dans les ostensions une identité, marchoise, limousine, d’autres reconnaissent dans les ostensions une expression de foi, spirituelle, une dimension religieuse. Mais ce dont j’ai été témoin, c’est qu’il y a un véritable équilibre : les uns respectant les autres. »
Jacques Pérot : « J’ai pensé que les ostensions rentraient tout à fait dans la définition du patrimoine culturel immatériel telle qu’elle a été donné en 2003 par l’UNESCO. C’est pour ça que nous avons porté une candidature à l’inscription sur la liste représentative du patrimoine culturel immatériel de l’humanité parce que, en fait, les ostensions répondent tout à fait aux grands critères d’inscription. Les critères sont :
– une très longue tradition, et là ça remonte au Moyen-Age.
– Deuxièmement, une tradition toujours vivante, c’est vraiment le cas, et qui est portée par les communautés.
Ce n’est pas quelque chose d’artificiel. Il n’y a pas d’ostensions si la population ne le veut pas. Et ce n’est pas le clergé qui décide s’il y aura des ostensions. C’est vraiment la population qui le décide. Alors, ensuite il y a des confréries, des comités qui organisent mais c’est vraiment un choix qui est fait lieu par lieu. Il y a un certain nombre de lieux en Limousin qui ont abandonné cette tradition depuis longtemps. Mais, ça reste toujours très vivant et vous avez une population énorme qui sont à la fois des touristes quelque fois mais qui sont aussi un mouvement de foi, un mouvement religieux. C’est une curiosité pour beaucoup de gens. »
Père Laurent Gouneau : « Cette année, nous avons été largement bénis par les écluses du ciel. » (Il fait référence à la pluie abondante qui est tombée au Dorat lors des Ostensions 2016.) »

Etapes suivantes

De la collégiale à la Porte Bergère

Les Ostensions

Jacques Pérot, qui a porté le dossier des Ostensions Limousines auprès de l’UNESCO, nous raconte les origines médiévales de cette tradition, tandis que le père Laurent Gouneau, curé de la paroisse, évoque la spécificité des Ostensions du Dorat.

Les autres parcours