The wall paintings
Bookmark and Share

Read more

The paintings on the ceiling vault in Les Cars stables are practically France’s only example of this type of equestrian-themed decoration. Certain elements were revealed and the preservation of these paintings was stabilized during recent renovations.

Parts which can still be seen were studied, and show that the decor was divided into 4 categories.

On the lower part, all that is left is a fragment of the letters « F » and « bAS » underlined by a swirl.

The upper part is easier to decipher and more diverse, with large horses. Each horse has a distinctive posture and is painted differently. Some seem to be walking; another who has a rider on its back, is rearing. The colour process varies.

You can see the yellow silhouette of a horse vehicle and a strange character beneath the horse: perhaps a groom holding a comb. The character’s disproportioned size compared to the horse, probably means that it was added to the painting later on.

Above a series of lines, symbolizing a gate, another part shows a succession of horses and riders. The smaller pattern size and the presence of gates invite visitors to perceive these scenes as a background to the other scenes we saw earlier.  One seems to represent a tournament during which rider has fallen off of his horse.

The last part develops along the top line and presents a series of colourful medallions. There is a monogram on two of them. This probably refers to the person who ordered the paintings in the late 16th century : Count François des Cars.

The paintings are exceptional because of their quality and rareness. They are an eloquent tribute to the power and prestige of the lords of Les Cars during the Renaissance.

Etapes suivantes

Castle and stables tour

The wall paintings

In the stables, some of the equestrian wall paintings have been preserved. Discover them thanks to this video which reveals discreet details about these paintings.

Other courses

Les peintures murales
Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Les décors de la voûte des écuries des Cars constituent un ensemble pictural quasiment unique en France, entièrement dédié au thème équestre. Des restaurations récentes ont dégagé certains éléments et permis de stabiliser la conservation des peintures.

L’étude des zones encore lisibles révèle une organisation des décors en 4 registres.

Dans la partie inférieure ne subsiste qu’un fragment d’inscription où se distinguent les lettres « F » et « bAS » soulignées par une volute.

Le registre supérieur, le plus lisible et le plus diversifié, est celui des « grands chevaux », tous différents par leur posture ou leur traitement pictural. Certains semblent marcher au pas. Un autre, portant un cavalier, se cabre. Le traitement chromatique est varié.

On discerne, en jaune, la silhouette d’un véhicule hippomobile et sous le ventre d’un animal, un étonnant personnage, qui pourrait être un palefrenier muni d’une étrille. Les proportions inégales du personnage par rapport au cheval laissent supposer qu’il s’agit d’un ajout ultérieur.

Au dessus d’un ensemble de traits, symbolisant une barrière, un autre registre offre une succession de chevaux et de cavaliers. La taille plus réduite des motifs et la présence des barrières invitent à percevoir ces scènes comme un arrière plan des précédentes. L’un d’elles semble représenter un tournoi où l’un des cavaliers tombe de sa monture.

Le dernier registre se développe le long de la ligne de faîte et présente une série de médaillons de différentes couleurs. Deux d’entre eux portent un monogramme. Il pourrait faire référence au commanditaire de ces peintures, dans la seconde moitié du XVIe siècle, le comte François des Cars.

Exceptionnelles par leur rareté et leur qualité, ces peintures sont aussi un éloquent témoignage de la puissance et du prestige des seigneurs des Cars à la Renaissance.

Etapes suivantes

Circuit château et écuries

Les peintures murales

Dans les écuries, une partie des peintures murales équestre a été conservée. Découvrez ces décors grâce à cette vidéo qui vous en dévoilera les détails les plus discrets.

Les autres parcours