The Dordogne riverside

Bookmark and Share

Read more

Beaulieu’s bridges have a chaotic history. Its first stone bridge, built in the 13th century, lasted but a hundred years.

Its next bridge was built 6 centuries later, in the 19th century : it was a suspension bridge which collapsed twice. It was replaced in the 1920s by todays’ concrete road bridge, which was inaugurated in 1925.

In the Middle Ages, large wooden boats called « nau » were used to transport passengers, livestock and goods across the river. This tradition continued in Beaulieu until the 1970s, with a long line of what was then called « passeuse d’eau ». These women were in charge of helping passengers across the river : Clarisse, then her neighbor Adèle, then Adèle’s daughter who was also called Adèle… This tradition ended when a bridge was built to repair the embankment, and to allow access to the holiday village on the left riverbank.

The Dordogne is a dangerous and unpredictable river. Until large dams were built, it was only navigable in spring and autumn. For centuries, flat-bottom gabare boats called « courpets » were made in the Correzian villages of Spontour and Argentat, and they stopped over in Beaulieu on their way down to Libourne. “Courpet” boats only travelled one-way. They transported vineyard stakes and wood for barrel-making, and once they reached their destination, were taken apart and their wood was sold for heating purposes.

The river’s traffic reached its peak in the 1860s.  It brutally declined with the appearance of the railway, a much safer and faster means of transportation.

Today, you can take a ride onboard the “Adèle and Clarisse” and enjoy a guided tour along the Dordogne river.

Etapes suivantes

Discovering tour

The Dordogne riverside

The Dordogne riverside is a lovely place to take a stroll, but for centuries, the river was an obstacle to be crossed, as well as a means of transportation for merchandise.

Step back in time thanks to this video and its many archival images, to discover the river’s history, its bridges, gabare boats and the people who worked here, such as the Dordogne’s « passeuses d’eau ».

Other courses

Les quais de la Dordogne

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Les ponts de Beaulieu ont une histoire chaotique. Un premier pont en pierre, bâti au 13ème siècle au niveau de la Chapelle n’a pas résisté plus de cent ans.

Il faudra ensuite attendre le XIXe siècle pour voir arriver un nouveau pont, un pont suspendu qui s’est écroulé par deux fois. Des travaux menés dans les années 1920 ont permis de le remplacer par l’actuel pont routier en béton, inauguré en 1925.

Au Moyen Age, la traversée de la rivière se faisait surtout dans de grandes barques appelées « nau »,  capables de transporter  les hommes, les bestiaux et les marchandises. Cette tradition s’est perpétuée à Beaulieu jusqu’au début des années 1970 grâce à une lignée de « passeuses d’eau ». D’abord « la Clarisse », qui vivait dans cette maison, puis sa voisine Adèle, suivie de sa fille aussi surnommée Adèle. La passerelle piétonne, construite pour refaire la digue et pour desservir un village de vacances sur la rive gauche, a mis fin à cette activité.

Rivière dangereuse et capricieuse, la Dordogne était, jusqu’à l’établissement des grands barrages en amont, navigable au printemps et à l’automne, périodes appelées des « eaux marchandes ». Pendant des siècles, les courpets, gabares à fond plat fabriquées en amont, dans les villages corréziens de Spontour et Argentat, ont fait halte à Beaulieu. Ils descendaient pour un unique voyage jusqu’à Libourne,  transportant essentiellement des échalas (tuteurs de vigne) et des merrains (bois de tonnellerie). A destination, ils étaient démontés et vendus comme bois de chauffage.

L’apogée  du trafic fluvial se situe dans les années 1860.  Le déclin est ensuite brutal, dû à la concurrence du chemin de fer plus sûr et plus rapide.

Aujourd’hui, la gabare touristique nommée « Adèle et Clarisse » vous propose du printemps à l’automne des balades commentées qui font revivre la batellerie sur la Dordogne.

Etapes suivantes

Circuit découverte

Les quais de la Dordogne

Les quais de la Dordogne sont aujourd’hui un lieu de promenade et de plaisance, mais pendant des siècles la rivière était tantôt un obstacle à franchir, tantôt une voie de transport pour les marchandises.

Revivez, grâce à cette vidéo agrémentée de nombreuses images d’archives, l’histoire fluviale de Beaulieu, avec ses ponts, ses gabares et ses « passeuses d’eau ».

Les autres parcours