Bookmark and Share

Read more

Besides the colour of its stones, the town of Collonges is also unique, thanks to the towers of all sizes on its houses and manors.

These towers were built gradually, mainly between the 14th and the 17th centuries.

Most are circular, with a cone-shaped roof, but several are polygonal or square, with a pavilion-type roof. Some still have sandstone flagstone roofing, supported by either a cul-de-four or pyramid-shaped vault, or by a wooden structure.

Towers are usually located at the buildings’ angles. They are either totally prominent and independent, or partly inlaid in the main building’s façade : halfway or completely integrated into the building.

Almost all of the towers contain winding stairs, built with red sandstone from Meyssac, giving access to each floor. Sometimes, the top floor used to be a dovecote, as you can see by the holes still present on several of the buildings. The Benges castel stairtower also had a defensive purpose, with medieval scaffolding and corbels which have stood the test of time. The small adjoining tower also had a room with a fireplace, where guards could rest.

Besides being useful, towers were also ostentatious exterior signs of wealth. They were an indication of their owners’ upper class social rank. During Collonges’s golden age, between the 16th and 18th centuries, there were 26 towers in the town. After the French Revolution, owners who feared tax collection were less incline to preserve evidence of their wealth. Some towers were demolished, other were simply leveled down a storey or two. Partly inlaid stairway towers had their tops removed and were integrated beneath the main buildings’ roofs, which made them totally invisible from the exterior.

Thus, a dozen of the town’s towers disappeared.

Etapes suivantes

Between towers and “castels”

Collonges’s towers

These towers are typical of Collonges-la-Rouge. Get a closer look thanks to this video which shows you parts that are usually inaccessible, and discover what is hidden behind the walls!

Other courses

Les tours de Collonges

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Outre la couleur de ses pierres, le bourg de Collonges-la-Rouge se distingue également par ses nombreuses tours et tourelles sur les maisons et manoirs.

Leur période de construction s’échelonne principalement sur 3 siècles, entre le 14ème et le 17ème.

La plupart sont circulaires, coiffées d’un toit conique mais quelques-unes sont polygonales ou carrées, avec une toiture en pavillon. Certaines ont conservé leur couverture en lauze de grès, portée par une voûte maçonnée en cul-de-four ou en pyramide, ou par une charpente en bois.

Les tours sont le plus souvent situées sur l’angle du bâtiment. Elles peuvent être totalement saillantes, hors-œuvre, ou bien en partie engagées dans la façade du bâtiment principal, en demi-hors-œuvre, ou encore totalement intégrées au bâti, dans-œuvre.

Elles abritent presque toujours des escaliers en vis, en grès rouge de Meyssac. Parfois, le dernier étage servait de pigeonnier, comme en témoignent les trous d’envol encore présents sur plusieurs d’entre-elles. La tour d’escalier du castel de Benges assurait aussi une fonction défensive avec son hourd dont les corbeaux sont toujours en place. La tourelle qui lui est accolée présentait également un espace avec cheminée, aménagé pour le repos des gardes.

Au-delà de leurs fonctions pratiques, les tours constituaient aussi des signes ostentatoires de richesse, qui indiquaient le rang social élevé de leurs propriétaires. Aux heures les plus prospères de Collonges, entre le 16ème et le 18ème siècle, le bourg a pu en compter au moins 26. Après la révolution, les propriétaires craignant l’impôt sont moins enclins à conserver ce témoignage de leur aisance financière. Certaines sont démolies, d’autres simplement arasées d’un ou deux étages. Des tours d’escalier dans-œuvre sont découronnées et intégrées sous la toiture du logis pour devenir totalement invisibles de l’extérieur.

C’est ainsi qu’une dizaine de tours aurait disparu dans le bourg.

Etapes suivantes

Entre tours et castels

Les tours de Collonges

Les tours sont l’un des éléments caractéristiques de Collonges-la-Rouge. Admirez-les de plus près grâce à cette vidéo qui vous permet d’en apercevoir certaines parties inaccessibles et de découvrir ce qui se cache derrière leurs murs.

Les autres parcours