Chagall stained glass windows : themes and techniques
Bookmark and Share

Read more

The choir stained glass window in Le Saillant chapel, called The 4 elements, symbolizes the creation of the world. The intense blue colour, shaded by white gradation is created by pouring acid on white glass that is plated with blue. It represents both water and air. Red triangles symbolise the earth and the green vegetation is veined with white grisaille trails : a dark type of painting that requires baking to set correctly. A white bird symbolises the Holy Spirit. The bird is depicted floating above the original world into a ray of sun, which symbolizes fire and divine light.

Two faces are depicted in a quadrilobe, among other shapes. They are the faces of Isabelle and Guy de Lasteyrie du Saillant, who ordered the stained glass masterpiece.

The stained glass used for the four lateral windows is barely stained, and their pattern is painted using the grisaille technique, deepened by yellow and silver touches. The choice of light colours brings light to a blind wall. The theme of these glass walls is agriculture, echoing the surrounding countryside with a religious overtone.

The stained glass window closest to the choir depicts a farmer harvesting his crops. He is accompanied by his wife and child, in a field, with a bird flying ahead.

The next one shows a shepherd, raising his stick in the air and guiding his herd of sheep.

The third stained glass window shows a grape-harvesting scene, under the hot sun.

The last one depicts a fisherman pulling his fish-filled net out of the water. Two birds are flying above him.

The oculus above the door is the same colour as the choir’s stained glass window, with two bouquets of flowers and a cockerel greeting the rising sun.

On all of the windows, the impression of movement is reinforced by the lead design that separates the pieces of glass with a network of curved lines. Master glassworker Charles Marq interpreted Chagall’s work quite remarkably.

Etapes suivantes

Allassac, Saint-Viance, Voutezac

Chagall stained glass windows : themes and techniques


Now that you are aware of the context in which they were created, you are ready to find out the meaning of these stained-glass windows by Marc Chagall, as well as the technical secrets involved. This video is quite detailed and shows elements which are not visible, unless pointed out.

Other courses

Les vitraux Chagall, thèmes et technique
Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Le vitrail du chœur est installé dans une baie gothique. Intitulé Les 4 éléments, il symbolise la Création du monde. Le bleu intense, nuancé par des dégradés de blanc réalisés avec de l’acide qui opacifie le verre, représente à la fois l’eau et l’air. Des triangles rouge foncé symbolisent la terre, tandis que la végétation, en vert, est nervurée de fins tracés en grisaille, un procédé de peinture spécialement conçu pour le verre, fixé par la cuisson. Un oiseau blanc, symbole du Saint Esprit, plane au dessus de ce monde originel, dans un rayon de soleil qui symbolise à la fois le feu et la lumière divine.

Au dessus, dans le quadrilobe, les deux visages qui apparaissent sur fond orangé, parmi les formes géométriques, sont les commanditaires des vitraux : Isabelle et Guy de Lasteyrie du Saillant.

Les quatre baies latérales utilisent du verre très peu teinté, sur lequel le motif est peint en grisaille. Ce choix de la clarté permet à la lumière de pénétrer pleinement par ces ouvertures qui font face à un mur aveugle. Le thème de ces verrières est le monde agricole, en hommage à l’environnement rural de la chapelle.
Le vitrail le plus proche du chœur, Le blé, représente la moisson, avec un faucheur, sa femme et son enfant dans un champ survolé par un oiseau. Dans le suivant, L’agneau, un berger guide son troupeau de moutons à l’aide de son bâton. Le 3ème panneau, La vigne, offre une scène de vendanges, sous un soleil puissant. Enfin, dans la dernière baie, Le poisson, un pêcheur tire son filet plein hors d’une mer ou d’une rivière survolée par deux oiseaux.

Le vitrail de l’oculus, au dessus de la porte, reprend principalement les couleurs du vitrail du chœur. Au dessus de deux bouquets de fleurs, un coq salue le lever du soleil.

Sur l’ensemble des vitraux, le dessin des plombs qui sépare par un réseau de courbes les différentes pièces de verre renforce l’impression de mouvement des dessins de Chagall. C’est le talent du maître verrier Charles Marq qu’il faut ici saluer, pour sa remarquable interprétation du travail du peintre.

Etapes suivantes

Allassac, Saint-Viance, Voutezac

Les vitraux Chagall, thèmes et technique

Maintenant que vous connaissez le contexte de leur réalisation, les vitraux de Marc Chagall sont prêts à vous révéler leur signification et leurs secrets techniques dans cette séquence vidéo qui passe à la loupe certains détails peu visibles.

Les autres parcours