The stud farm's history

Bookmark and Share

Read more

Pompadour’s stud farm was created in 1764 by King Louis XV, in this province of Limousin, which was renowned for horse breeding.  The estate lies upon several hundreds of hectares and occupies many of the old seigneury’s annexes, in the towns of  Arnac Pompadour, Beyssac and Saint Sornin Lavolps.

After the French Revolution and the destruction of part of the castle, the stud farm was reorganized in 1801. For 50 years, each new director strived to convert and to modernize the different sites. In particular, they invented the Anglo-arabian breed and the origin stud farm, by selecting and introducing Arabian horses.  The most active and perceptive was Antonin de Lespinats. From 1834 to 1843 he created the race track, re-established the « La Rivière » broodmare station , and set up the stables and pastures where he divided the horses by ages, resulting in the most complete stud farm ever to have existed.

Pompadour went downhill for some time, then in 1874, the Bocher law redefined the administration of national stud farms, with districts and an officer corps (pron : core). From 1876 to 1878, spacious stables were built at Puy Marmont to greet more stallions.

After 1945, with the development of horse-riding as a sport, Pompadour resisted and remained. The stud farm’s missions were reinforced thanks to the constitution of breeding nurseries, essentially for Anglo-arabian horses and to the national and international development of the Limousin breed of cattle, which originated in  Pompadour.

Today, like many stud farms, Pompadour no longer has a reproduction activity, but it is the only one that still has an Anglo-arabian farm, on the nearby site of Chignac. It is also a prestigious venue for competitions.

Etapes suivantes

Stud farm and castle tour

The stud farm's history

This sequence traces through the history of Pompadour’s stud farm, from its foundation by King Louis XV, its golden age in the 19th century and the invention of the Anglo-Arabian horse breed, until nowadays. The farm is still an important venue for equestrian events.

Other courses

L'histoire du haras

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Le haras de Pompadour est créé en 1764 par le roi louis XV dans cette province du Limousin alors renommée pour l’élevage des chevaux. Son domaine s’étend sur plusieurs centaines d’hectares et occupe de nombreuses dépendances de l’ancienne seigneurie, sur les communes d’Arnac Pompadour, Beyssac et Saint Sornin Lavolps.

Après l’épisode révolutionnaire et la destruction d’une partie du château, le haras est réorganisé dès 1801. Pendant 50 ans, les directeurs  successifs s’emploient à aménager et moderniser les différents sites. Ils inventent surtout la race anglo-arabe dont Pompadour est le berceau et le haras souche, par un travail de sélection et l’introduction de chevaux arabes. Le plus actif et le plus perspicace de ces directeurs reste Antonin de Lespinats, qui de 1834 à 1843 crée l’hippodrome,  rétablit la Jumenterie de La Rivière, supprimée à la Révolution, et aménage les écuries et les herbages où il répartit les chevaux par classe d’âges, constituant ainsi le haras le plus complet qui soit.

Après une période de déclin, Pompadour connaît un nouveau souffle en 1874 avec la loi Bocher qui redéfinit l’administration des haras nationaux avec des circonscriptions et un corps d’officiers. De 1876 à 1878, de spacieuses écuries sont construites sur le site du Puy Marmont pour accueillir d’avantage d’étalons.

Après 1945, à la faveur du développement du cheval de sport, Pompadour,  résiste une fois de plus aux menaces de suppression. Les missions du haras sont renforcées avec « la constitution d’élevages pépinières notamment de chevaux de race anglo-arabe et aussi le développent national et international de la race bovine limousine dont Pompadour est à l’origine.

Aujourd’hui, si Pompadour, comme tous les haras nationaux n’a plus d’activité d’étalonnage, il est le seul à avoir conservé son élevage d’anglo-arabes, présent sur le site tout proche de Chignac. Il demeure également un haut lieu de compétition.

Etapes suivantes

Parcours château et haras

L'histoire du haras

Cette séquence retrace en vidéo l’histoire du haras de Pompadour, de sa fondation par le roi Louis XV à son apogée au 19ème siècle, avec l’invention de la race anglo-arabe, jusqu’à nos jours où il demeure un haut lieu de compétition.

Les autres parcours