Bookmark and Share

Read more

Contemporary art has been present on the island of Vassivière since the summer of 1983, and the first international granite sculpture symposium. Its aim was to bring together contemporary creations and local traditional materials such as granite and wood. The Millevaches plateau’s subsoil is almost exclusively composed of granite, a crystalline rock made of feldspath, quartz and mica, whose specks are visible to the naked eye.

Marc Sautivet and Dominique Thebault created an association of art aficionados. It organizes this granite sculpture forum, called  « L’île aux Pierres », or Stone island, with Limousin’s stonework network, and financial support from the state.

Artists who have been selected to participate in the event are greeted and supported by locals, who are delighted to watch stone being transformed into works of art. These artworks belong to the association and remain in Vassivière. They are part of the outdoor museum, in the southern part of the island, by the footbridge.

In addition to the symposium, the « LAC&S Limousin Art Contemporain et Sculpture » association set up a policy to enhance the outdoor museum by ordering new artwork, on a regular basis.  This is why «Solstice d’été» (Summer Solstice) was created by François Bouillon. It comes to life every year on June 21st.

Vassivière, which was already a popular holiday destination, thus became an artistic destination, even if most of the island was still used for farming at the time.

The idea of a contemporary art centre sprung in 1985 and became reality in 1989 with support from the state and the region, in keepingwith  a policy that had already begun in Limousin, with the contemporary art centre in Meymac.

The island’s collection and artwork gradually opened up to new materials, besides granite and wood.

Today, there are 65 works of art in the Sculpture Forest, which fit in perfectly with the landscape.

Etapes suivantes

Art and landscape tour

Stone island

And we end with the beginning of the story, in the Sculpture Forest of Vassivière island: A true human adventure, the combination of art lovers and culture professionals who worked together to durably implant contemporary art in such an unexpected rural area.

Other courses

L’île aux pierres
Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

La présence de l’art contemporain sur l’île de Vassivière remonte à l’été 1983, avec la première rencontre internationale de sculpture sur granit, qui proposait de rapprocher la création contemporaine de matériaux locaux traditionnels : le granit et le bois. En effet, le sous-sol du plateau de Millevaches est presque exclusivement composé de granit, une roche cristalline composée de feldspaths, de quartz et de micas dont les grains sont visibles à l’œil nu.

Une association de passionnés d’art, réunis autour de Marc Sautivet et Dominique Thebault, organise donc ce symposium de sculptures en granit du limousin, intitulé L’île aux Pierres, avec les acteurs de la filière pierre du Limousin et le soutien des financeurs publics.

Les artistes sélectionnés pour participer à l’événement sont accueillis et soutenus par la population locale ravie de pouvoir assister aux métamorphoses de la pierre. Les œuvres produites appartiennent à l’association et restent à Vassivière, pour constituer un musée en plein air, dans la partie sud de l’île, proche de la passerelle.

En plus du symposium, l’association LAC&S Limousin Art Contemporain et Sculpture inaugure dès 1984 une politique de commande d’œuvres destinées à enrichir ce musée à ciel ouvert. C’est ainsi qu’est créé «Solstice d’été» de François Bouillon, sculpture réactivée par le feu tous les 21 juin.

Déjà touristique, Vassivière devient une destination artistique, même si la majorité des terres de l’île reste encore agricole à cette époque.

L’idée d’un centre d’art contemporain germe dès 1985 et se concrétise en 1989 avec le soutien de l’Etat et de la Région, dans la continuité d’une politique amorcée en Limousin avec le Centre d’art contemporain de Meymac.

La collection et les productions artistiques de l’île vont peu à peu s’ouvrir à d’autres matériaux que le granit et le bois.

Aujourd’hui le Bois de Sculptures compte 65 œuvres, en résonnance avec le paysage.

Etapes suivantes

L’île aux pierres

  • -1. L’île aux pierres

L’île aux pierres

Et si nous finissions par le commencement de l’histoire, à l’origine du Bois de sculptures de l’île de Vassivière… C’est une aventure humaine, la convergence d’actions de passionnés et de professionnels de la culture qui a permis l’implantation durable de l’art contemporain sur des terres agricoles que rien ne prédisposait à ce projet.

Les autres parcours