The general organization of the « castle »
Bookmark and Share

Read more

The “castle” was probably set up in Ségur in the 9th century when the Viscounts first appeared, but the majority of the constructions which can still be seen today, date back to the 15th and 16th centuries.
This fortified ensemble had two distinct enclosures : the Viscount’s residence, made up of various buildings to the south, and to the north of the courtyard, reserved for the residences of vassal knights whose role was to defend the site. So it wasn’t exactly a castle, it was more of a “castrum”, or fortified village.
The viscounts’ part, located above the meander, is now in ruins, whereas the area dedicated to knights is located beside the revised residences.

The surrounding wall was made up of residences and a defensive wall, which followed the rock’s contour. Parts of the rampart walkway, such as several machicolations ,are still standing, on the south side today. It is likely that the walkway went all the way around the building. The two closed parts were separated by a moat, which could be crossed thanks to a drawbridge.

On the Viscounts’ side, a postern enabled pedestrians to enter and exit on the hillside, without having to access the courtyard. However, the main entrance to the fortified site was beside the courtyard. This entrance has now been walled-in and was covered up by backfill. After this first door, an outdoor ramp ran along the surrounding wall, guarded by two round towers and there was a second door with an opening in it, at the base of a square tower.

In the 17th century, this access vaniched beneath the backfill, when a major levelling project took place, to gain space along the slopes of the rocky spur. A small defensive bastion was added on, and a new entrance was set up on the northern side. This was the coach door, which nowadays is the main entrance to the castle site. It is accessible via a stone bridge which the lowered drawbridge rested upon.

Etapes suivantes

On the riverside

The general organization of the « castle »

What is commonly called the « castle » of Ségur was actually a « castrum » : a fortified village divided into two distinct parts. Discover these parts thanks to this video’s Computer Generated Imagery.

Other courses

L'organisation générale du château
Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

L’établissement d’un « château » à Ségur remonte à l’apparition des Vicomtes, sans doute dès le 9ème siècle, mais la majorité des constructions encore visibles date des 15ème et 16ème siècles.
Cet ensemble fortifié regroupait deux enclos distincts : au sud la résidence du Vicomte, composée de différents bâtiments, et au nord la basse-cour, réservée aux habitations des chevaliers vassaux chargés de défendre le site. Ce n’était donc pas à proprement parler un château mais plutôt un castrum, un village fortifié.
La partie vicomtale correspond aux ruines actuelles, surplombant le méandre, tandis que l’espace dédié aux chevaliers se situe du côté des habitations remaniées.

L’enceinte extérieure était constituée par les bâtiments d’habitation et par un mur défensif qui suivait le tracé du rocher. Le chemin de ronde, dont certains fragments avec mâchicoulis subsistent côté sud, se prolongeait probablement sur toute l’enceinte. Les deux zones closes étaient également séparées l’une de l’autre par un fossé, franchi par un pont levis.

Côté vicomtal, une poterne permettait aux piétons d’entrer et de sortir sur les pentes de l’éperon sans passer par la basse-cour. Mais l’accès principal au site fortifié se faisait côté basse-cour par une porte aujourd’hui murée et enfouie sous les remblais. Passé cette première porte on longeait le mur d’enceinte par une rampe extérieure, gardée par deux tours circulaires, jusqu’à une deuxième porte percée dans la base d’une tour carrée.

Au 17ème siècle, cet accès disparaît sous les remblais d’un important terrassement, réalisé pour gagner de l’espace sur les pentes de l’éperon rocheux. Un petit bastion défensif est ajouté et une nouvelle entrée est aménagée au nord. Il s’agit de la porte cochère qui constitue l’entrée actuelle du site castral. On y accède par un pont dormant en pierre, qui enjambe l’important dénivelé, et sur lequel venait reposer un pont-levis.

Etapes suivantes

Au fil de l’Auvézère

L'organisation générale du château

Le « château » de Ségur était en fait plutôt un castrum, un village fortifié, divisé en deux parties distinctes. Regardez grâce aux restitutions en images de synthèse comment s’organisaient ces espaces et leurs accès.

Les autres parcours