Bookmark and Share

Read more

Wicker is a material made of young willow stalks, which are cut in winter and used for basketwork.  Wicker became a booming business here at the end of the 19th century, when the area’s former wine-growers converted to spring fruit and vegetable farming. The need for containers to export local produce induced the development of basketwork. Willows prospered in the damp soil of the valleys. This activity, which involved both farming and craftwork developed in Corrèze and in 1933, Saint Viance became France’s 5th wicker producer. After World War 2, the demands for basketwork declined. Wicker farming became more and more industrialized and there were only a few local farmers left.

Today, Saint-Viance has revived wicker-farming thanks to Serge Mazaud’s business…

Serge Mazaud interview :

« Wicker is a fabulous plant because it takes a cutting quite easily, even when the willows we use are extremely long. So, when you have a few basic weaving skills, you can end up with huge structures which grow and continue to live on, in your garden. Just to give you an idea: last year, I harvested wicker that measured over 4 metres long. This gives me enough freedom to plan ahead and consider large live wicker structures.

To obtain top quality wicker, the plant has to grow continuously, without ever stopping. That means no ramifications. The stalks must be as long and as thin as possible. And the bark must not be injured. Which means that when I am out here mowing, I have to pay attention not to damage the sprigs. The most annoying plants around here are t morning glories. They have a tendency to leave marks on the sprigs…

I have about 30 different varieties to produce from, plus a collection you can see right behind me, with 67 types of wicker and botanical willow I’ll use for plant architecture. I make cabins and fences for different types of climate and soils.

Etapes suivantes

Allassac, Saint-Viance, Voutezac

Wicker

Wicker-farming and basket-making prospered greatly in the area in 19th century up until World War 2. The activity owes its revival to Serge Mazaud, whom you will discover in this video interview

Other courses

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

L’osier est une jeune pousse de saule coupée en hiver et utilisée pour la vannerie. Sa culture a connu ici un essor fulgurant au moment de la reconversion agricole de la fin du 19ème siècle lorsque les anciens vignerons se sont tournés vers la culture des fruits et légumes primeurs.  Les besoins en contenants pour exporter les productions locales ont induit le développement de la vannerie. Le saule prospère dans les vallées aux sols humides. Aussi, cette activité à la fois agricole et artisanale s’est développée en Corrèze, jusqu’à occuper en 1933 le 5ème rang de la production française d’osier. Après la seconde guerre mondiale, la demande en vannerie a décliné et la culture de l’osier, de plus en plus mécanisée, n’a perduré que très localement.

Aujourd’hui, Saint-Viance a renoué avec cette activité grâce à l’entreprise de Serge Mazaud…

Interview de serge Mazaud :

« L’osier c’est une plante formidable dans la mesure où elle a une aptitude à bouturer très facilement, même avec des très grandes longueurs. Donc quand on a quelques bases de tressage et un peu d’idées on arrive à faire de grosses structures qui se mettent à pousser, donc qui vont continuer à vivre dans le jardin à partir d’osier. Pour vous donner une idée l’année dernière j’ai récolté des bois qui faisaient plus de 4 mètres de long, du coup ça laisse pas mal de liberté pour envisager ensuite de grosses structures en osier vivant.

Un brin d’osier de qualité, en fait il faut qu’il pousse sans s’arrêter. Pour ça il ne faut pas qu’il ait de ramifications et il faut qu’il soit le plus long et le plus fin possible. Et puis pas de blessures au niveau de l’écorce. Ça veut dire par exemple au niveau de la tonte je fais attention de ne pas accrocher les brins. La plante qui m’embête le plus c’est le liseron parce que ça marque les brins, etc etc.

J’ai une trentaine de variétés différentes en production, plus une collection, qui est derrière moi là, de 67 variétés d’osier et de saule botanique, pour faire l’architecture végétale, c’est-à-dire des cabanes, des clôtures, sur différentes situations de sols, de climats.

Etapes suivantes

Allassac, Saint-Viance, Voutezac

L’osier

La culture de l’osier et la vannerie ont largement prospéré ici au 19ème siècle et jusqu’à la seconde guerre mondiale. Découvrez cette activité perpétuée aujourd’hui par Serge Mazaud, à travers cette interview vidéo.

Les autres parcours