Panorama of Spinner's Rock

Bookmark and Share

Read more

Crozant School artists were particularly fond of this breathtaking panorama. It towers above the rivers Sédelle and Creuse, embracing the citadel’s ruins and headland. The cliff opposite the rocky spur, on the other side of the river, is not in Creuse but in the Indre area. It gets its poetic name “Rocher de la Fileuse” (which means “Spinner’s rock”), from a local legend…

Back when there were lords in Crozant, young sherperdesses would bring their sheep here to graze. In the springtime, they would sit on the rocks and compete in a contest : they would lean over the ledge and drop their spindles, letting them unravel all the way down to the river, then they would suddenly tug at the string and the wet spindles would pop back up like shimmering yoyos.

From atop the tower, the lord, his lady and knights would watch these tournaments. The most skilful shepherdesses were triumphantly carried up to the castle where they were awarded a crown of flowers by the lord, a chaste kiss on the forehead and the permission to marry one of the castle’s most charming young valets.

Down to your left was Brigand mill. Its wheel was immerged in the river Sédelle. Many artists including Armand Guillaumin immortalized it.  Little did they know that the mill would be swallowed up by the river, once Eguzon dam was built, in 1926.

Etapes suivantes

Crozant

Panorama of Spinner's Rock

The panorama before you offers a splendid view of the Crozant ruins and of « Rocher de la Fileuse » (« Spinner’s rock »), on the opposite river bank, on the Berry side of the river Creuse. This video, illustrated by many Impressionist paintings, tells you about the legend of Rocher de la fileuse. It also evokes the memory of Brigand mill, which no longer exists.

Other courses

Panorama sur le Rocher de la fileuse

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Les peintres de l’Ecole de Crozant appréciaient particulièrement ce panorama spectaculaire. Il domine la Sédelle jusqu’à son point de rencontre avec la Creuse et embrasse le promontoire et les ruines de la citadelle. Face à l’éperon rocheux, la falaise qui surplombe la Creuse, sur l’autre rive, est située dans l’Indre. Elle porte le nom poétique de Rocher de la Fileuse, hérité d’une légende…

Au temps des seigneurs de Crozant, de jeunes bergères venaient faire paître leurs moutons sur les hauteurs alentour. Aux premiers beaux jours du printemps, elles s’asseyaient sur les rochers et se lançaient dans une joyeuse compétition. Se penchant au dessus du précipice, elles laissaient se dérouler leurs fuseaux jusqu’à la rivière, puis d’un coup les faisaient remonter le long du fil de lin, comme des yoyos scintillants de fines gouttelettes.

Depuis le haut de la tour, le seigneur entouré de son épouse et de ses chevaliers, assistait à ce tournoi. La bergère la plus habile était acclamée par les autres jeunes filles qui la menaient en triomphe jusqu’au château où elle recevait du seigneur une couronne de fleurs, un chaste baiser sur le front et la permission de se fiancer avec le plus charmant des jeunes valets du château.

Sur votre gauche, en contrebas, se trouvait le moulin Brigand qui plongeait sa roue dans la Sédelle. De nombreux artistes parmi lesquels Armand Guillaumin, l’ont immortalisé. Ils ignoraient alors que le Moulin Brigand serait englouti par la montée des eaux, suite à la construction du barrage d’Eguzon en 1926.

Etapes suivantes

Crozant

Panorama sur le Rocher de la fileuse

Le panorama qui s’ouvre ici permet d’admirer les ruines de la citadelle de Crozant et le Rocher de la Fileuse, qui surplombe la Creuse sur l’autre rive, côté Berry. Cette vidéo, illustrée par de nombreux tableaux impressionnistes, vous raconte la légende du Rocher de la fileuse. Elle évoque également le souvenir du moulin Brigand, aujourd’hui disparu.

Les autres parcours