Ségur between the 19the and the 20th centuries
Bookmark and Share

Read more

After the Appeals court closed in 1750, Ségur’s economic activity decreased considerably. However, up until 1950, there were still about 50 artisans and shopkeepers in Ségur : butchers, bakers and innkeepers, as well as trades that no longer exist, such as wheelwrights, who used to make and strap cartwheels, and sand sweepers, who collected high quality sand from the bottom of the river Auvézère using flat-bottomed boats.

As it is often the case, everday life was organized according to the different seasons: threshing in summer, sheep shearing in spring, basket-making in winter… An annual tribute to these trades began taking place in Ségur in 1976.

The river Auvézère supplied water to 3 mills in Ségur, and produced flour for local bakers and apple juice for cider-making.

In 1907, Saint Laurent mill, in the centre of town, became a 4-level flourmill, equipped with elaborate grinding and sifting devices.

In 1924, thanks to donations from inhabitants, Richard mill, which was located upstream, was equipped with a hydroelectric turbine. It started out by supplying power to the town’s lampposts until 1930, which was a first back then ! People from neighbouring villages would gather in Ségur after dark to « see » electricity !

The medieval Notre-Dame and Saint-Laurent stone bridges, stood the test of time for many centuries, but were destroyed by a great flood in 1913. They were replaced by larger and more modern concrete bridges, which were fit for supporting the weight of cars.

Nowadays, Ségur’s mills are no longer in activity and most of the town’s shops are closed. However, the heart of Ségur still beats thanks to tourism.

Etapes suivantes

On the riverside

Ségur between the 19the and the 20th centuries

This video has an early 20th century atmosphere to it, with a series of archive images presenting old trades, activities and everyday life in Ségur. You’ll also discover the town’s mills and old bridges.

Other courses

Ségur entre 19ème et 20ème siècle
Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Après la suppression de la cour des appeaux en 1750, Ségur voit son activité économique décliner. Le petit bourg conserve pourtant jusqu’en 1950 plus d’une cinquantaine d’artisans et de commerçants : bouchers, boulangers et aubergistes, mais également des métiers aujourd’hui disparus, comme les charrons, qui fabriquaient et cerclaient les roues des charrettes, ou les tireurs de sable, qui draguaient le fond de l’Auvézère dans une barque à fond plat pour récolter un sable de grande qualité.

Comme ailleurs, la vie s’organisait aussi autour d’activités saisonnières : la batteuse en été, la tonte des moutons au printemps ou la vannerie en hiver, ranimées le temps d’une journée par cette fête folklorique à Ségur en 1976.

L’Auvézère alimentait 3 moulins qui fabriquaient de la farine pour les boulangeries locales ou pressaient des pommes pour le cidre.

En 1907, le Moulin Saint Laurent, au centre du bourg, est transformé en une minoterie sur 4 niveaux, équipée de systèmes de broyage et de tamisage élaborés.

Quant au Moulin Richard, situé en amont du bourg, il reçoit en 1924, grâce à une souscription des habitants, une turbine hydroélectrique qui alimente le premier éclairage public de la commune jusqu’en 1930, une grande première pour l’époque ! A la tombée de la nuit, on venait des villages voisins, pour « voir » l’électricité à Ségur. »

Le Pont Notre-Dame et le pont Saint-Laurent, dont la construction en pierre de type médiévale résistait au courant depuis des siècles, ont été détruits par une importante crue en 1913. Ils ont été remplacés par des ponts modernes en béton, plus larges et plus adaptés à la circulation automobile.

Aujourd’hui, les moulins ne sont plus en activité et la plupart des boutiques et échoppes ont fermé leurs portes. Mais le cœur de Ségur continue de battre grâce au tourisme.

Etapes suivantes

Au fil de l’Auvézère

Ségur entre 19ème et 20ème siècle

Retrouvez l’ambiance du début du 20ème siècle dans cette séquence illustrée d’images d’archives qui vous présente les vieux métiers et activités qui rythmaient autrefois la vie de Ségur et découvrez aussi ses moulins et ses anciens ponts.

Les autres parcours