Ségur, a safe location
Bookmark and Share

Read more

The town of Ségur-le-Château is located in the north-west of Corrèze, on the border between Dordogne and Haute-Vienne, on the river Auvézère. This river, which used to be known as the « Haute-Vézère », runs here in the narrow, winding and steep-sided valley, lined with a 350m high plateau. Ségur is nested in a meander, safe from invasions and attacks.
The meander encircles a steep rocky headland. This strategic location, protected by both the river and the steep slope, makes it an ideal spot for a castle. The name « Ségur » comes from the Latin word « securium » which means « safe place ».
Thus, during the Middle Ages, one of the Viscounts of Limoges’s main fortresses was built here. It developed considerably between the 15th and the 18th centuries, and an appeal court was set up there.
Let’s go back in time to see how it all began. During the reign of Charlemagne, Limousin was a vast county. Its administrative headquarters were in Limoges. However, during the 9th century, the territory was coveted by neighbouring counts, established in Toulouse, Clermont-Ferrand and Poitiers. In the absence of a resident count, Limousin was progressively monopolized by viscounts who divided it into pieces, which were subject to their authority.
Each of these viscounts settled down in areas that were easily defendable, preferably high above ground level, to dominate neighbouring lands, to keep an eye out for possible assailants, and to show the extent of their power. Thus, Ségur was chosen for its natural defensive assets and became the headquarters of a Viscouncy.

Etapes suivantes

On the riverside

Ségur, a safe location

The town’s geographic location, on a meandering river, beneath an overhanging rocky spur, made it an ideal area to set up a fortified medieval village, which became the headquarters of a viscountcy. This video sets the town’s geographical and historical scene.

Other courses

Ségur, un lieu sûr
Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Le village de Ségur-le-Château est situé dans la partie nord-ouest de la Corrèze, à la frontière de la Dordogne et de la Haute-Vienne, sur le cours de l’Auvézère. Cette rivière, qui portait autrefois le nom de Haute-Vézère, coule ici dans une vallée étroite, sinueuse et encaissée, bordée par un plateau de 350 mètres d’altitude en moyenne. Elle forme un méandre au creux duquel le bourg de Ségur est venu se nicher, à l’abri des attaques.
En effet, le méandre encercle un promontoire rocheux escarpé. Cette position stratégique, protégée par le double obstacle de la rivière et de l’escarpement, en fait l’endroit idéal pour implanter un château. Le nom de Ségur dérive d’ailleurs du mot latin securium que l’on pourrait traduire par « le lieu sécurisé ».
Ce village a ainsi abrité au Moyen Age l’une des principales forteresses des Vicomtes de Limoges. Il s’est ensuite fortement développé entre le 15ème et le 18ème siècle en devenant le siège d’une cour d’appel.
Remontons le fil de l’histoire pour comprendre comment tout ceci a débuté. Sous Charlemagne, le Limousin est un vaste Comté dont le siège administratif est situé à Limoges. Mais dans le courant du 9ème siècle, ce territoire est disputé par des comtes périphériques, établis à Toulouse, Clermont-Ferrand et Poitiers. En l’absence d’un comte résident, le Limousin est progressivement accaparé par des vicomtes qui se taillent, comme ils le peuvent, des territoires soumis à leur autorité.
Chacun s’établit sur un site facilement défendable, de préférence en hauteur pour surplomber les terres voisines et dominer les éventuels assaillants, mais aussi pour montrer son pouvoir. C’est donc pour ses qualités défensives naturelles que le site de Ségur a été choisi pour devenir le siège d’une vicomté.

Etapes suivantes

Au fil de l’Auvézère

Ségur, un lieu sûr

La géographie particulière de ce lieu, sur un méandre de rivière surplombé par un éperon rocheux, en a fait l’emplacement idéal pour implanter au Moyen Age un village fortifié, siège d’une vicomté. Cette vidéo vous plante le décor géographique et historique de Ségur.

Les autres parcours