A pre-Renaissance castle

Bookmark and Share

Read more

Written testimonies and drawings enable us to imagine what the castle of Pompadour looked like between the 16th and the 18th centuries. The important construction work that Geoffroy de Pompadour, his brother Jean and nephew Antoine carried out around the year 1500, made it one of the most sophisticated residences in the entire province. Its style was Gothic flamboyant with signs of influence by the Italian Renaissance. Geoffroy de Pompadour was a distinguished member of the church and of politics. He was the bishop of Angoulême, then Périgueux then Le Puy and councillor to Kings Louis the 11th, Charles the 8th and Louis the 12th. His contact with royal and pontifical courts is what brought him to import such stylistic innovations, which were brand new to the area.

The castle had 4 wings, forming a rectangle around the central courtyard.

The south wing, which was the only part that remained intact after the Revolution, was made of local granite  rubblestone. This is the part of the castle where the domestics lived. In the centre of this building, a gatehouse controlled the access to the inner courtyard.

The main buildings located north of the court of honour, were made of limestone blcoks. This type of stone was more refined than the granite used in the south wing, but more expensive as well, since it had to be imported from neighbouring regions. These buildings were completely demolished during the French Revolution.

The north and south wings were connected by a 2 floor gallery, to the west.  Several texts describe these missing parts as having been « one of the finest examples of the Gothic sort and of arabesque architecture ».

The quadrilateral formed by the castle had 4 impressive circular flanking towers. The Hautefort tower, the most sophisticated one, probably contained the lordly bedroom.

Finally, a large square medieval tower had been preserved in the courtyard, in the middle of more recent constructions.

 

Etapes suivantes

Stud farm and castle tour

A pre-Renaissance castle

The castle of Pompadour was built around 1500. It was a reflection of its owners’ great power and sophisticated taste. Unfortunately, its finest parts were demolished. Discover what the castle used to look like thanks to this video, its old maps and computer generated images.

Other courses

Un château pré-Renaissance

Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Des témoignages écrits et des plans permettent d’imaginer à quoi pouvait ressembler le château de Pompadour entre le 16ème et le 18ème siècle. Les importants travaux menés autour de 1500 par Geoffroy de Pompadour, son frère Jean et son neveu Antoine, en avaient fait l’une des résidences les plus raffinées de la province. Le style gothique flamboyant y rencontrait les premières influences italiennes de la Renaissance. Geoffroy de Pompadour, personnage éminent dans l’église et en politique, a été tour à tour évêque d’Angoulême, de Périgueux et du Puy et conseiller des rois Louis XI, Charles VIII et Louis XII. C’est en côtoyant les cours royales et pontificales qu’il a pu importer ces nouveautés stylistiques jusqu’alors inconnues dans la région.

Le corps de place était formé de 4 ailes disposées en quadrilatère autour d’une cour centrale.

L’aile sud, seule partie conservée après la Révolution, est en moellons de granite local. Elle abritait les espaces domestiques. Au centre de ce bâtiment, le châtelet d’entrée commandait l’accès de la cour intérieure.

Les bâtiments principaux situés au nord de la cour d’honneur étaient bâtis en blocs de calcaire, matière plus fine que le granite utilisé dans l’aile Sud, mais plus onéreuse, car elle devait être importée des régions voisines. Ils ont été entièrement démolis à la Révolution.

L’aile nord et l’aile sud étaient reliées à l’ouest par une galerie à deux étages. Des textes décrivent ces parties disparues comme l’«un des plus beaux morceaux du genre gauthique et de l’architecture arabesque ».

Le quadrilatère formé par le château était flanqué de 4 tours d’angle circulaires d’un diamètre imposant. La tour Hautefort, la plus prestigieuse, abritait certainement la chambre seigneuriale.

Enfin, une grosse tour médiévale carrée avait été conservée dans la cour, au milieu des constructions plus récentes.

Etapes suivantes

Parcours château et haras

Un château pré-Renaissance

Bâti vers 1500, le château de Pompadour reflétait la puissance et le goût raffiné de ses propriétaires. Les parties les plus raffinées ont malheureusement été démolies. Découvrez dans cette vidéo à quoi il pouvait ressembler, grâce à des plans anciens et à des images de synthèse.

Les autres parcours