Vassivière, the evolution of a landscape
Bookmark and Share

Read more

Vassivière’s hilly landscape on the Millevaches Plateau, seems immutable. However, it has considerably evolved since the 19th century.

Until the 1900s, the plateau was covered with small plots of subsistence grain farms. Sheep were led to the surrounding moorland and peat bogs to graze. In winter, the men migrated to large cities to find work, mainly as builders.  But in the late 19th century, rural exodus was massive and permanent.

Ferns, broom and other types of bushes grew were sheep used to graze. From the 1920s onwards, these abandoned plots became part of a reconversion project, and spruce and Douglas trees were planted for the wood industry.  This intensified after the Second World War.

This reforested landscape, a distant reflection of a forest that centuries of industrialization had erased, changed again in the 1950s when Vassivière’s hydraulic dam was built. This gigantic reservoir flooded the Maulde basin, swallowing up 8 hamlets and 3 mills. In the middle of the artificial lake, what was once a hill formed an island, which gave its name to Vassivière. A footbridge was built to connect the island to the land.

Vassivière’s water sports facilities enabled tourism to develop around the lake. It is a preserved site thanks to a French law called “mountain and waterside law”.

Although the lake is artificial, it follows the contours of the land and seems natural. The combination of water and forests gives the wilderness, which often reminds visitors of Canada, a contrast between shade and light, described by landscape artist  in his “Drink the lake’s water” charter.

The landscape is an inspiration for artists who come here to create.

Etapes suivantes

Art and landscape tour

Vassivière, the evolution of a landscape

This video shows how Vassivière’s landscape was transformed over the last 150 years, the changes in farming and the construction of a dam.

Other courses

Vassivière, l'évolution d'un paysage
Bookmark and Share

Lire le commentaire

Le paysage vallonné du pays de Vassivière, sur le plateau de Millevaches, semble immuable. Mais il a considérablement évolué depuis le 19ème siècle.

Jusqu’aux années 1900, le plateau accueillait une agriculture céréalière de subsistance organisée en petites parcelles. Les moutons étaient menés en pâture sur les vastes landes et dans les tourbières. L’hiver, les hommes migraient vers les grandes villes pour être employés, notamment comme maçons. Mais à la fin du XIXe siècle, l’exode rural est massif et définitif.

La disparition des troupeaux sur la lande favorise la croissance des fougères, des genêts et autres arbustes. A partir des années 1920, ces terres délaissées font l’objet d’un plan de reconversion dans l’exploitation forestière par la plantation d’épicéas et de douglas sur les hauteurs. Ce phénomène s’accélère après la 2nd guerre mondiale.

Ce paysage reboisé, lointain reflet d’une forêt que des siècles d’activité humaine avaient effacée, est encore métamorphosé dans les années 1950 par la construction du barrage hydroélectrique de Vassivière. Cet immense réservoir a noyé les terres du bassin de la Maulde, engloutissant 8 hameaux et 3 moulins. Au centre, le relief du village de Vassivière a formé une île qui a donné son nom au lac. Un pont passerelle a été construit pour relier l’île à la terre.

Les aménagements réalisés pour les activités nautiques permettent le développement du tourisme aux abords du lac. Aujourd’hui l’espace est préservé grâce aux lois montagne et littorale.

Bien qu’artificiel, le lac suit les contours des terres et semble naturel. Le mariage de l’eau et de la forêt procure un sentiment de rudesse et de sérénité qui évoque les paysages du Canada, un contraste d’ombres et de lumières comme le définit le paysagiste Gilles Clément dans la charte « Boire l’eau du lac ».

Ce paysage est une source d’inspiration pour les artistes qui viennent créer ici.

Etapes suivantes

Parcours Art et Paysage

Vassivière, l'évolution d'un paysage

Vivez à travers cette vidéo la transformation du paysage de Vassivière au cours des 150 dernières années, les changements dans l’exploitation des terres et la construction du barrage.

Les autres parcours