Essential Aubusson
  • The Château de la Vicomté in Aubusson was built on the rocky spur which overlooks the town. Take a look at this video to discover the history of this site and envisage the original appearance of the castle depicted by ancient engravings.

  • The Sainte Croix church in Aubusson has experienced a turbulent past. Learn all about the history of the church and a number of the houses in Rue Châteaufavier courtesy of this video.

  • Aubusson town hall was built during the 1930s and 1940s, adopting an Art Deco style. Follow the history of its construction, which features a number of twists and turns.

  • The Grande Rue was created shortly before the French Revolution. It became one of the major routes through the town of Aubusson in the 19th century. This video will shed light on the history of the street and point out some of its remarkable buildings.

  • The artisan who performs the task of tapestry weaving is known as a “lissier” in French. The expertise of the town of Aubusson is now recognised by UNESCO as “intangible cultural heritage of humanity”. Observe the traditional process of weaving  using a low-warp loom with this demonstration by Patrick Guillot.

  • The clock tower overlooks Aubusson from its promontory and is one of the iconic structures of Aubusson. This video will enable you to see it in its original context and discover its clock making mechanism.

  • Terrade bridge is one of Aubusson’s most iconic structures. This video will allow you to discover its history and see the appearance of its surroundings during the beginning of the last century courtesy of old post cards dating back to that time.

  • Aubusson is well known for its tapestry workshops, witch were granted the status of royal manufactory in the 17th century. Discover the history of this artisanal activity and learn more about the organisation in the manufactories.

  • Aubusson tapestry making experienced significant changes in the interwar period, at the instigation of the Ecole Nationale d’Art Décoratif d’Aubusson and a variety of artists. Follow the different stages of artisanal and artistic development, with Bruno Ythier, conservator at the Musée de la Tapisserie in Aubusson, as your guide.

  • The Cité Internationale de la Tapisserie et de l’Art Tissé was established in Aubusson to showcase the expertise recognised by UNESCO as “intangible cultural heritage of humanity”. This video will guide you in a more clear understanding of the role of the organisation, which features a museum and has a variety of missions, and allow you to discover the ambitious architectural project for the building where the organisation will be housed in the future.

Essential Aubusson

Visit the highlights of Aubusson and discover its heritage, expertise, and the history of the town.

Other courses

Aubusson essentiel
  • Le château de la Vicomté d’Aubusson a été bâti sur l’éperon rocheux qui domine la ville. Découvrez à travers cette vidéo l’histoire de ce site et imaginez l’aspect initial du château évoqué par des gravures anciennes.

  • L’église Sainte Croix d’Aubusson a connu une histoire mouvementée.  Appréhendez cette histoire et celle de plusieurs maisons de la rue Châteaufavier par le biais de cette vidéo.

  • L’Hôtel de ville d’Aubusson a été conçu dans les années 1930-40, dans le style Art Déco. Suivez l’histoire de sa construction, qui a connu quelques rebondissements.

  • La Grande rue a été créée juste avant la Révolution. Elle est devenue l’un des axes principaux d’Aubusson au 19ème siècle. Cette vidéo vous aidera à appréhender l’histoire de la rue et à distinguer quelques uns de ses bâtiments remarquables.

  • L’artisan qui réalise le tissage des tapisseries se nomme le lissier. Ce savoir-faire aubussonnais est aujourd’hui reconnu par l’UNESCO comme patrimoine immatériel de l’humanité. Observez le procédé traditionnel du tissage en basse lisse grâce à la démonstration de Patrick Guillot.

  • La tour de l’horloge domine Aubusson depuis son promontoire et constitue l’un des bâtiments emblématiques de la ville. Cette vidéo  vous permettra de la situer dans son contexte d’origine et de découvrir son mécanisme d’horlogerie.

  • Le pont de la Terrade est l’un des édifices emblématiques d’Aubusson. Cette vidéo permet de découvrir son histoire et de voir l’aspect de ses abords au début du siècle dernier grâce à des cartes postales anciennes.

  • Aubusson doit sa renommée à la pratique artisanale de la tapisserie, pour laquelle elle a reçu l’appellation de Manufacture Royale au 17ème siècle. Découvrez l’histoire de cette activité et apprenez comment s’organisait le travail dans les manufactures.

  • La tapisserie d’Aubusson a connu d’importants changements dans l’entre deux guerres, sous l’impulsion de l’Ecole Nationale d’Art Décoratif d’Aubusson et de différents artistes. Suivez avec Bruno Ythier, Conservateur du Musée de la tapisserie d’Aubusson, les différentes étapes de ces évolutions artisanales et artistiques.

  • La Cité Internationale de la tapisserie et de l’art tissé a été créée à Aubusson pour faire vivre ce savoir faire reconnu par l’UNESCO comme Patrimoine Immatériel de l’Humanité. Laissez-vous guider par cette vidéo pour mieux comprendre le rôle de la Cité, avec son musée et ses différentes missions, et découvrir le projet architectural ambitieux de son tout nouveau bâtiment.

Aubusson essentiel

Visitez les lieux incontournables d’Aubusson et découvrez son patrimoine, ses savoir-faire et l’histoire de la ville.

Les autres parcours