Aubusson heritage
  • The Château de la Vicomté in Aubusson was built on the rocky spur which overlooks the town. Take a look at this video to discover the history of this site and envisage the original appearance of the castle depicted by ancient engravings.

  • The Sainte Croix church in Aubusson has experienced a turbulent past. Learn all about the history of the church and a number of the houses in Rue Châteaufavier courtesy of this video.

  • The church of Aubusson houses a number of works of art, specifically two large tapestries and a monumental painting. Identify the display and production conditions of these works with this audio commentary.

  • Built in the 16th century by the Vallenet family, this building is representative of the architectural heritage of Aubusson. Discover its history and architecture courtesy of this audio commentary.

  • Travel in time a century back with this visual animation. You will see the evolutions of Place de la Libération between the first quarter of the 20th century and today.

  • Terrade bridge is one of Aubusson’s most iconic structures. This video will allow you to discover its history and see the appearance of its surroundings during the beginning of the last century courtesy of old post cards dating back to that time.

  • The clock tower overlooks Aubusson from its promontory and is one of the iconic structures of Aubusson. This video will enable you to see it in its original context and discover its clock making mechanism.

  • Protestantism was established in Aubusson in the first half of the 16th century. A church, which has since been destroyed, was built in the early 17th century. The entrance to the passage which leads to the church is still visible in Rue Vieille. Use this audio guide to follow the turbulent history of the contraction of this church.

  • The Maison du Tapissier (Tapestry Weaver’s House) owes its name to the small museum devoted to the trade contained within its walls. Follow the stages in the construction of this 15th century Aubusson house courtesy of this audio commentary.

  • The Grande Rue was created shortly before the French Revolution. It became one of the major routes through the town of Aubusson in the 19th century. This video will shed light on the history of the street and point out some of its remarkable buildings.

  • The Place d’Espagne fountain dates back to 1772, however its basin is actually a former baptismal font which could date back as far as the 13th century. Listen to this audio guide to find out more about its history and construction.

Aubusson heritage

The “Aubusson heritage” tour will take you on a journey through the old town to discover the history of Aubusson revealed in its oldest buildings.

Other courses

Aubusson patrimoine ancien
  • Le château de la Vicomté d’Aubusson a été bâti sur l’éperon rocheux qui domine la ville. Découvrez à travers cette vidéo l’histoire de ce site et imaginez l’aspect initial du château évoqué par des gravures anciennes.

  • L’église Sainte Croix d’Aubusson a connu une histoire mouvementée.  Appréhendez cette histoire et celle de plusieurs maisons de la rue Châteaufavier par le biais de cette vidéo.

  • L’église d’Aubusson abrite plusieurs œuvres, notamment deux grandes tapisseries et une peinture monumentale. Identifiez la représentation et les conditions de réalisation de ces œuvres grâce à ce commentaire audio.

  • Cette maison construite au 16ème siècle par la famille Vallenet est représentative du patrimoine bâti d’Aubusson. Découvrez son histoire et son architecture au travers de ce commentaire audio.

  • Voyagez dans le temps et faites un bond d’un siècle en arrière avec cette animation qui vous permettra d’observer l’évolution de place de la Libération entre le premier quart du 20ème siècle et aujourd’hui.

  • Le pont de la Terrade est l’un des édifices emblématiques d’Aubusson. Cette vidéo permet de découvrir son histoire et de voir l’aspect de ses abords au début du siècle dernier grâce à des cartes postales anciennes.

  • La tour de l’horloge domine Aubusson depuis son promontoire et constitue l’un des bâtiments emblématiques de la ville. Cette vidéo  vous permettra de la situer dans son contexte d’origine et de découvrir son mécanisme d’horlogerie.

  • Le protestantisme s’est implanté à Aubusson dès la première moitié du 16ème siècle. Un temple, aujourd’hui détruit, a été bâti au début du 17ème. L’entrée du passage qui menait à ce lieu de culte est encore visible dans la rue Vieille. Suivez, grâce à cet audioguide, l’histoire mouvementée de la construction de ce temple.

  • La « maison du tapissier », est ainsi appelée car elle abrite un petit espace muséographique dédié à ce métier.  Suivez les étapes de construction de cette maison aubussonnaise du 15ème siècle grâce à un ce commentaire audio.

  • La Grande rue a été créée juste avant la Révolution. Elle est devenue l’un des axes principaux d’Aubusson au 19ème siècle. Cette vidéo vous aidera à appréhender l’histoire de la rue et à distinguer quelques uns de ses bâtiments remarquables.

  • La fontaine de la place d’Espagne date de 1772 mais sa vasque est une ancienne cuve baptismale qui pourrait dater du 13ème siècle. Ecoutez cet audio guide pour en savoir plus sur son histoire et sa construction.

Aubusson patrimoine ancien

Partez en visite à travers la vieille ville pour découvrir l’histoire d’Aubusson révélée par ses bâtiments les plus anciens.

Les autres parcours